• Menu
  • Menu
Bom Jesus - Braga

The Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte in Braga

Accueil » Europe » Mediterranean Europe » Portugal » Braga » The Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte in Braga
0
(0)

A Unesco World Heritage Site since 2019, the Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte (Good Jesus of the Mount) in Braga is undoubtedly one of the most emblematic tourist sites in Portugal.

Follow the guide!


Accommodation, flights, activities, citypass …
You’ll find all the Captain’s suggestions in the section
The Captain’s favourites at the very end of the article!

A short history of the Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte

According to legend, in the 14th century, a cross appeared in the sky above Mount Espinho following a battle between Christians and Moors. A first chapel was thereforevbuilt on top of the hill in 1373 to commemorate this “miracle”.

But the construction of the Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte as we know it today did not begin until a few centuries later, in 1722, under the auspices of Archbishop Rodrigo de Moura Telles. He ordered the construction of the first flight of stairs (the Via Crucis, the Way of the Cross), then the second, the Staircase of the Five Senses. In the 1720s, a baroque church was built at the top of the stairs.

At the end of the 18th century, Archbishop Gaspar de Braganza ordered the construction of a third and final flight of stairs: the Staircase of the Virtues. The baroque church was demolished and replaced by a new neo-classical church consecrated in 1834.

In the 19th century, the area around Bom Jesus was converted into a park. A hydraulic funicular (the first in the Iberian Peninsula) was inaugurated in 1882 to facilitate access to the top of the hill.

A century and a half later, in 2019, the Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte was registered as a Unesco World Heritage Site.

Bom Jesus - Braga

Visiting the Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte

The staircase, the sacred way of Bom Jesus

The Via Sacra of the Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte is comprised of a set of three flights of stairs (577 steps in total) leading to the basilica, at the top of Mount Espinho. They symbolize the passage from earth to heaven: pilgrims are encouraged to climb the stairs on their knees and purify themselves in the fountains that line the Sacred Way of Bom Jesus.

Bom Jesus do Monte - Braga

The Via Crucis, the Way of the Cross (or Portico Stairway): punctuated by chapels decorated with terra cota statues representing the Passion of Christ, the Portico Stairway is the oldest portion of the Sacred Way of Bom Jesus. Longer and not as steep as the other two flights of stairs, it winds through the shade of the trees in Bom Jesus Park.

Bom Jesus - Way of the Cross

The Staircase of the Five Senses: the Staircase of the Five Senses forms with the Staircase of the Virtues (from which it is separated by a small landing), the majestic baroque zigzag staircase leading to the top of the hill. Each of the five senses (sight, smell, hearing, taste and touch) is represented by a fountain.

The Staircase of Virtues: last flight of stairs before reaching the top. The Staircase of Virtues is dedicated to the three theological virtues: Faith, Hope and Charity. As in the Staircase of the Five Senses, each of the virtues is represented in the form of a fountain.

The Court of Moses (Terreiro de Moisés): at the top of Mount Espinho, the Via Sacra leads to a vast esplanade at the foot of the Basilica of Bom Jesus, the Court of Moses. It is home to the famous Pelican fountain as well as an equestrian statue of Saint Longinus and two chapels.

Shrine of Bom Jesus do Monte

The Court of the Evangelists (Terreiro dos Evangelistas): located behind the Basilica of Bom Jesus, the Court of the Evangelists, built in the 1760s, features five octagonal chapels (attributed to the architect André Soares) and four baroque fountains topped by statues of the Evangelists.

Bom Jesus - Court of Evangelists

The funicular of Bom Jesus

Inaugurated in 1882, the funicular of Bom Jesus is the oldest funicular in the Iberian Peninsula. 274 meters / 900 ft long with a difference in altitude of 116 meters / 380 it (i.e. a slope of more than 30%), it can get to the top of Mount Espinho in about 3 minutes. It consists of two cabins: one goes up when the other goes down.

The funicular of Bom Jesus has the particularity of drawing its driving force from water.

The Basilica of Bom Jesus do Monte

If the highlight of the Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte is indeed the Via Sacra, the basilica is nevertheless worth visiting. Designed by the architect Carlos Amarante, it is one of the oldest neo-classical buildings in Portugal.

Inside, don’t miss the 18th century paintings of Pedro Alexandrino and the organ dating from 1798 (which is admittedly not as stunning as the sumptuous organ of the Cathedral of Braga).

The park of Bom Jesus

After visiting the basilica, take some time to stroll in the lovely park of Bom Jesus. You’ll find a fake devotional cave as well as three luxury hotels: Hotel do Templo, Hotel do Elevador and Hotel do Parque. They’re perfect pied-à-terres if you want to spend the night near the sanctuary. Find out more here.

Access

📍 Getting to Bom Jesus: Bom Jesus do Monte is located 6 kilometers / 4 miles from the center of Braga. You can drive to the sanctuary, take city bus (line 2 from Avenida da Liberdade) or take a hop-on ho-off tourist bus which stops near all the city’s top tourist attractions.

⏱ Opening hours: the Basilica is open daily from 8am to 7pm in summer and 8am to 6pm in winter. The funicular runs every day from 8:55 am to 7:55 pm in summer, from 8:55 am to 12:55 pm and from 1:55 pm to 5:55 pm in winter.

💵 Admission: visiting the sanctuary is free. Funicular tickets are available at the price of €1.50 (one way) / €2.50 (return)

👍 The Captain’s tip 👍
Captain Ulysses warmly recommends this free tour of the city to visit Braga with a passionate guide.
You’re free to choose how much you wish to tip the tour guide at the end of the tour!


Looking for tips and recommendations? Here are all the Captain’s suggestions in Braga!

🛏️ Accommodation: to book your accommodation in Guimarães, Captain Ulysses warmly recommends Booking.com. From youth hostels to luxury boutique hotels: there’s plenty to choose from.
The Captain particularly recommends:
– hostels: inBraga Hostel / Fonte Branca Guest House – Sé
– budget hotels: Páteo de Janes / Old City Guest House
– mid-range hotels: Domus 26 Guesthouse / Hotel Moon & Sun Braga
– more exclusive hotels: Melia Braga Hotel & Spa / Burgus Tribute & Design Hotel

🎟️ Activities : To book your tickets, tourist activities and excursions in Braga and more generally in Portugal, Captain Ulysses warmly recommends the booking platforms GetYourGuide and Civitatis.

📍 Getting to Braga: To get to Braga, there are several options:
– the car (if you plan to rent a car in Portugal, Captain Ulysses can only recommend Rentalcars, on which you’ll be able to compare the offers of countless rental companies including Avis, Budget, Europcar, Sixt…)
– train or bus (several trips per day from Porto or Guimaraes)
– day tours (Captain Ulysses recommends this excursion to Braga and Guimarães from Porto)

🚌 Local transportation: Braga is a small city that is very easy to explore on foot. That said, if you can’t/won’t walk, you can also opt for the hop-on hop-off tourist bus tour.

✈️ Flights and trains: the closest airport to Braga is Porto. To book your flights, Captain Ulysses highly recommends Skyscanner. You’ll be able to compare countless offers to find the best deal. If your dates are flexible, you can also compare prices over several months to find the cheapest flights possible.

👉 Book your activities now!


Did you like this article? Pin it! 📌

Bom Jesus - Braga - Pinterest

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• Menu
  • Menu
Bom Jesus - Braga

Bom Jesus do Monte : le Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont à Braga

Accueil » Europe » Europe méditéranéenne » Portugal » Braga » Bom Jesus do Monte : le Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont à Braga
0
(0)

Inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco depuis 2019, le Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont (Bom Jesus do Monte) à Braga est sans conteste l’un des sites touristiques les plus emblématiques du Portugal.

En route, moussaillons : le Capitaine Ulysse vous emmène à la découverte de ce lieu de pèlerinage unique en son genre !


Hébergement, vols, activités, citypass…
Retrouvez toutes les suggestions du Capitaine dans la rubrique
Les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à la toute fin de l’article !

Petite histoire du Sanctuaire Bom Jesus do Monte

Selon la légende, une croix serait apparue dans le ciel au-dessus du Mont Espinho à la suite d’une bataille opposant Chrétiens et Maures au 14ème siècle. C’est donc pour commémorer ce « miracle » qu’une première chapelle aurait été construite au sommet de la colline en 1373.

Mais la construction du Sanctuaire de Bom Jesus do Monte de Braga tel qu’on le connaît aujourd’hui ne commence que quelques siècle plus tard, en 1722, sous l’égide de l’archevêque Rodrigo de Moura Telles. Ce dernier fait construire la première volée d’escaliers (la Via Crucis, le Chemin de Croix), puis la deuxième, l’Escalier des Cinq Sens. Dans les années 1720, une église baroque est également édifiée en haut des escaliers.

À la fin du 18ème siècle, l’archevêque Gaspar de Bragança ordonne la construction d’une troisième et dernière volée d’escaliers : l’Escalier des Vertus. L’église baroque est démolie et remplacée par une nouvelle église néo-classique consacrée en 1834.

Au 19ème siècle, les alentours de Bom Jesus sont convertis en parc. Un funiculaire hydraulique (le premier de la Péninsule ibérique) est inauguré en 1882 pour faciliter l’accès au sommet de la colline.

Un siècle et demi plus tard, en 2019, le Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont est inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.

Bom Jesus - Braga

Visiter le Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont

L’escalier, la Voie sacrée de Bom Jesus

La Via Sacra du Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont forme un ensemble de trois volées d’escaliers (577 marches au total) menant à la basilique, au sommet du Mont Espinho. Elles symbolisent le passage de la terre vers le ciel : les pèlerins sont encouragés à monter les escaliers sur les genoux et à se purifier dans les fontaines qui jalonnent la Voie sacrée de Bom Jesus.

Bom Jesus do Monte - Braga

La Via Crucis, le Chemin de Croix (ou Escalier du Portique) : ponctué de chapelles décorées de statues en terra cota représentant la Passion du Christ, l’Escalier du Portique est la plus ancienne portion de la Voie sacrée de Bom Jesus. Plus long et moins raide que les deux autres volées de marches, il serpente à l’ombre des arbres dans le Parc de Bom Jesus.

Bom Jesus - Chemin de croix

L’Escalier des Cinq Sens : l’Escalier des Cinq Sens forme avec l’Escalier des Vertus (dont il est séparé par un petit palier), le majestueux escalier baroque en zigzag menant au sommet de la colline. Chacun des cinq sens (la vue, l’odorat, l’ouïe, le goût et le toucher) est représenté par une fontaine.

L’Escalier des Vertus : dernière volée de marches avant d’atteindre le sommet. L’Escalier des Vertus est dédié aux trois vertus théologiques : la Foi, l’Espoir et la Charité. Comme dans l’Escalier des Cinq Sens, chacune des vertus est représentée sous la forme d’une fontaine.

La Cour de Moïse (Terreiro de Moisés) : au sommet du Mont Espinho, la Via Sacra débouche sur une vaste esplanade au pied de la Basilique de Bom Jesus, la Cour de Moïse. Cette dernière abrite la célèbre fontaine du Pélican ainsi qu’une statue équestre de Saint Longin de Centurion et deux chapelles.

Sanctuaire Bon Jésus du Mont

La Cour des Évangélistes (Terreiro dos Evangelistas) : située derrière la Basilique Bom Jesus, la Cour des Évangélistes, construite dans les années 1760, est agrémentée de cinq chapelles octogonales (attribuées à l’architecte André Soares) et quatre fontaines baroques surmontées de statues des évangélistes.

Bom Jesus - Cour des Évangélistes

Le funiculaire de Bom Jesus

Inauguré en 1882, le funiculaire de Bom Jesus est le plus ancien funiculaire de la Péninsule ibérique. Long de 274 mètres pour un dénivelé de 116 mètres (soit une pente de plus de 30%), il mène ses passagers au sommet du Mont Espinho en 3 minutes environ. Il est constitué de deux cabines : l’une monte lorsque l’autre descend.

Le funiculaire de Bom Jesus a la particularité de ne pas fonctionner à l’électricité : il tire ainsi sa force motrice de l’eau. Cette dernière, ajoutée dans un réservoir, permet au funiculaire de descendre, et fait monter l’autre cabine par un effet de contrepoids.

La Basilique du Bon Jésus du Mont

Si la « star » du Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont est bien la Via Sacra, la basilique mérite malgré tout le coup d’œil. Imaginée par l’architecte Carlos Amarante, c’est l’un des édifices néo-classiques les plus anciens du Portugal.

À l’intérieur, ne manquez pas les toiles de Pedro Alexandrino datant du 18ème siècle ainsi que le bel orgue datant de 1798 (qui n’arrive cependant pas à la cheville du somptueux orgue de la Cathédrale de Braga, que le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande de ne manquer sous aucun prétexte).

Le parc de Bom Jesus

Le parc invite les visiteurs à une promenade rafraîchissante autour du Sanctuaire du Bon Jésus du Mont. Vous y trouverez une fausse grotte de dévotion qui vaut le petit détour ainsi que trois hôtels de luxe : l’Hotel do Templo, l’Hotel do Elevador et l’Hotel do Parque. Si vous voulez passer la nuit à proximité du sanctuaire, le Capitaine vous recommande d’ailleurs ce dernier. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

Informations pratiques

📍   Se rendre à Bom Jesus : Bom Jesus do Monte est situé à 6 kilomètres du centre de Braga. Vous pouvez vous y rendre en voiture, en bus de ville (ligne 2 depuis l’Avenida da Liberdade) ou en empruntant le bus touristique à arrêts multiples qui navigue entre les sites et monuments de la ville.

⏱   Horaires de Bom Jesus : la Basilique est ouverte tous les jours de 8h à 19h en été et de 8h à 18h en hiver. Le funiculaire est ouvert tous les jours de 8h55 à 19h55 en été, de 8h55 à 12h55 et de 13h55 à 17h55 en hiver.

💵   Tarifs de Bom Jesus : la visite du sanctuaire est gratuite. Le funiculaire est au prix de 1,50 € l’aller simple, 2,50 € l’aller-retour.

👍  Le bon plan 👍 
Pour visiter Braga accompagné d’un guide passionné, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement de vous laisser tenter par ce free tour (gratuit) de la ville (en anglais).
À vous de choisir le pourboire que vous souhaitez laisser au guide pour le remercier de la visite !


Les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à Braga

🛏️   HÉBERGEMENTS
Pour réserver votre hébergement à Guimarães, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement le site Booking.com. De l’auberge de jeunesse au boutique hotel luxueux : tout y est.
Le Capitaine vous recommande tout particulièrement :
– auberge de jeunesse : inBraga Hostel / Fonte Branca Guest House – Sé
– hôtel bon marché : Páteo de Janes / Old City Guest House
– hôtel moyenne gamme : Domus 26 Guesthouse / Hotel Moon & Sun Braga
– hôtel plus exclusif : Melia Braga Hotel & Spa / Burgus Tribute & Design Hotel

🎟️   ACTIVITÉS
Pour réserver vos billets, vos activités touristiques et vos excursions à Braga et plus généralement au Portugal, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement les plateformes de réservation GetYourGuide et Civitatis.

📍   SE RENDRE À BRAGA
Pour vous rendre à Braga, plusieurs options s’offre à vous :
– la voiture (si vous comptez louer une voiture au Portugal, le Capitaine Ulysse ne peut que vous recommander la plateforme Rentalcars, qui compare les offres d’innombrables loueurs parmi lesquels Avis, Budget, Europcar, Sixt…)
– le train ou le bus (plusieurs trajets par jour depuis Porto ou Guimaraes)
– les excursions organisées (le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande cette excursion à Braga et Guimarães depuis Porto, disponible en français)

🚌   TRANSPORTS SUR PLACE
Guimarães est une ville de petite taille qu’il est très facile d’explorer à pied. Cela dit, si vous ne pouvez/voulez pas marcher, vous pouvez aussi opter pour le bus touristique à arrêts multiples.

✈️  VOLS
L’aéroport le plus proche de Braga est celui de Porto. Pour réserver vos vols, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement le site Skyscanner : il compare les offres de dizaines de compagnies pour trouver LE bon plan. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pourrez même trouver la période à laquelle les vols sont les moins chers ! Le plus : Skyscanner met en avant les options les plus éco-responsables en calculant les émissions de CO₂ de chaque vol.

Cet article vous a plu ? Épinglez-le ! 📌

Bom Jesus - Braga - Pinterest

Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : 0 / 5. Nombre de votes : 0

Pas de notes pour le moment. Soyez le premier à donner vote avis !

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *