• Menu
  • Menu
Jardin du Luxembourg - Paris

The Jardin du Luxembourg (Luxembourg Garden) in Paris

Accueil » Europe » Western Europe » France » Paris » The Jardin du Luxembourg (Luxembourg Garden) in Paris
0
(0)

Want to take a breath of fresh air between two visits to the heart of the French capital?Want to take a breath of fresh air after roaming countless museums in Paris? Head for the emblematic Jardin du Luxembourg (Luxembourg Garden): an oasis of tranquility far from the citys hustle and bustle!

Follow the guide!

💡 The Captain’s tip 💡

Want to know more about the history of Paris? Captain Ulysses highly recommends this free guided tour of the capital. It’s up to you to choose how much you wish to tip the tour guide!

Are you looking for a hotel in Paris? Feel free to have a look at the Captain’s recommendations: Where to sleep in Paris? Tips & recommendations

A short history of the Jardin du Luxembourg

At the beginning of the 17th century, Marie de Médicis, widow of King Henri IV, decided to build in what is now the 6th arrondissement of Paris (which was at the time very sparsely populated) a palace inspired by the Pitti Palace in Florence.

To carry out this project – which also included the creation of large formal gardens – she called upon the French architect Salomon de Brosse. The decoration of the palace was entrusted to a plethora of renowned Italian, French and Flemish artists, including none other than Peter Paul Rubens. Some of these paintings are now in the Louvre Museum.

The construction of the palace and gardens began in 1612 and was completed in 1630. The gardens are laid out in a very formal manner, with straight paths, ponds and fountains.

Over the centuries, the Jardin du Luxembourg has undergone many transformations. In 1635, André Le Nôtre, the famous gardener of King Louis XIV, partially redesigned the gardens.

During the Revolution, the Palais du Luxembourg was converted into a prison – where Danton was locked up – and the garden was left abandoned. The lands of the neighboring Chartreux Convent – more than 20 hectares / 50 acres – merged with the Jardin du Luxembourg.

During the Empire, Napoleon I had the garden redesigned as a playground for children, with kiosks and goat carriages!

Under the Second Empire, Baron Haussmann encroached on the gardens for his major urban planning works.

During the Second World War, the Jardin du Luxembourg was requisitioned by the Germans who dug deep blockhouses. It was restored at the Liberation.

💡 Where does the name Jardin du Luxembourg come from? 💡

The Palais du Luxembourg and the Jardin du Luxembourg are named after the Hôtel du Luxembourg, a former mansion on whose site they were built. The latter belonged to François de Piney-Luxembourg, a distant cousin of the House of Luxembourg, which gave its name to the Duchy of Luxembourg.

Flowers of the Luxembourg Garden

Visiting the Luxembourg Garden

Nestled in the 6th arrondissement of Paris, the Luxembourg Garden covers no less than 23 hectares between Boulevard Saint-Michel, Boulevard Saint-Germain and Rue de Vaugirard.

The garden is divided into two parts:

  • The first part consists of the formal gardens, which are laid out in a very formal way, with straight paths, ponds and fountains. This part of the gardens also includes a large lawn, flower beds, topiary trees and bushes, and numerous statues and sculptures.
  • The second part of the gardens is more English in style, with winding paths and freer, wilder trees and bushes.

The Jardin du Luxembourg is also home to several emblematic buildings:

The Palais du Luxembourg (Luxembourg Palace)

Built in the early 17th century, the Palais du Luxembourg now houses the Senate. The building is built in the classical style with ashlar. It follows the typical plan of French castles with a main building flanked by two wings. The monumental entrance is topped by a beautiful dome.

Inside the palace, there are numerous reception, work and deliberation rooms, including the Salle des Séances (the hemicycle where the senators sit), the Salle du Livre d’Or, the Chapel, the Conference Room and the magnificent library.

💡 Practical information 💡

The Senate is open to the public during the European Heritage Days, which are held every year on the 3rd weekend of September.

Luxembourg Garden - Luxembourg Palace

Le Petit Luxembourg

Located west of the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Petit Luxembourg (or Hôtel de la Présidence) is a private mansion built in the 16th century which now houses the residence of the President of the Senate.

Formerly called “Hôtel du Luxembourg”, it is this private mansion that Marie de Médicis acquired in the 17th century to build the Palais du Luxembourg on this domain.

💡 Practical information💡

The Petit Luxembourg can be visited once a year during the European Heritage Days, on the 3rd weekend of September.

The Musée du Luxembourg

Nestled in a wing built perpendicular to the orangery, near rue de Vaugirard, the Musée du Luxembourg houses temporary art exhibitions around three main themes: modernity in the 20th century, photography and women artists.

💡 Practical information 💡

Find the current exhibitions at the Musée du Luxembourg here. And to buy your tickets online, click here.

The Orangery

Located west of the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Orangerie is nestled in a beautiful building built in 1839 following the plans of the architect Alphonse de Gisors.

It is home to about 180 plants including citrus trees (mainly bigaradiers, some of which are 250 to 300 years old!), date palms, oleanders and pomegranates.

The greenhouses of the Jardin du Luxembourg

The greenhouses of the Jardin du Luxembourg are at the same time a place of production of plants for the decoration of the gardens and the palace, but also a place of conservation making it possible to continue to make live a horticultural inheritance dating from the 19th century. The greenhouses are three in number, and house ferns, begonias, and an impressive collection of orchids.

💡 Practical Information💡

Like the Palais du Luxembourg and the Petit Luxembourg, the greenhouses of the Jardin du Luxembourg are open to the public every year during the Heritage Days.

Other points of interest in the Jardin du Luxembourg include:

  • An apiary where you can try your hand at beekeeping under the direction of the Central Beekeeping Society
  • The Pavillon Davioud, which hosts free public classes of the Luxembourg School of Horticulture as well as art exhibitions
  • The former Hôtel de Vendôme, a private mansion built in 1707 which today houses the emblematic École des Mines

Access

Getting to the Jardin du Luxembourg

The Jardin du Luxembourg is located in the 6th arrondissement of Paris, in the Luxembourg district (between the Latin Quarter, Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Montparnasse), next to the Pantheon.

It is bordered by the boulevard Saint-Michel, the boulevard Saint-Germain and the rue de Vaugirard.

The Jardin du Luxembourg is easily accessible by metro. The closest stations are Luxembourg (RER B), Saint-Sulpice (line 4), Mabillon (line 10) and Rennes (line 12). The garden is also accessible by bus: lines 58, 84, 89, stop Musée du Luxembourg; lines 63, 70, 86, 96 stop Église Saint Sulpice. Hop-on hop-off bus tours also stop near the Jardin du Luxembourg. Find out more here.

Opening hours

The opening hours of the Jardin du Luxembourg vary according to the season. You can find the detailed schedule here.


👉 Skip the lines in Paris: book your tickets and tours in advance!


👉 Looking for advice and recommendations? Here are all of Captain Ulysses’ suggestions!

🛏️ Accommodation: Looking for an accommodation in Paris? Good news: there are plenty of options in the French capital. To book your hotel in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends the website Booking.com. From cheap hostels to luxury palaces, you’ll have plenty of options to chose from. As for the localisation, it depends both on your budget and on what you’re looking for. If you can’t afford staying in the most expensive areas of the capital, the Captain recommends that you look for a hotel in the 12th or 13th arrondissements: they’re not as central, but are very well connected to the centre of Paris. The Buttes au Cailles, which looks just like a small village, is one of the Captain’s favourite neighbourhoods in Paris. If you’d rather stay in a chic and sophisticated hotel, here are the best 3 options according to the Captain: the St. James , the Dokhan’s and the Metropolitan .

🎟️ Activities : in order to book skip-the-line tickets, tours and activities in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends GetYourGuide and Civitatis. Guided tours, entrance tickets, cruises, unusual activities: there’s plenty to chose from. If you want to avoid queuing to get into museums and monuments, the Captain suggests opting for skip-the-line tickets.

⛵ City cruises: Can you really visit Paris without going on a cruise on the Seine? The Captain loves sailing on the river and admiring the emblematic monuments of the French capital, especially at nightfall. You will find a large selection of cruises in Paris here.

🎫 City cards : If you’re planning on staying in Paris for a few days, you should definitely consider investing in a city card giving access to the capital’s top museums and landmarks. which includes access to the most famous monuments in Paris.

🚐 Transfers: the parisian airports are located outside the city and getting to the city centre can be quite expensive.
If your budget is tight, the Captain recommends the RATP shuttles that will drop you off at Opera if you’re coming from Roissy airport and at Denfert-Rochereau if you’re coming from Orly airport.
But for a few extra euros, you can book a transfer that will take you directly to your hotel.
If you are traveling in a group, this option is all the more interesting. Find out more here.

🚌 Transports: While you’ll be able to explore part of the city on foot, you will have to use the parisian public transports to explore some of the capital’s landmarks. In order to avoid accumulating (and losing) metro tickets, the Captain recommends opting for an unlimited transport pass. You can buy it directly at in any metro station.
Open tour buses (audioguides included) are also a good option.
If you’d rather explore Paris on a boat, you will love the batobus, a river shuttle on the Seine !

✈️ Flights, trains & buses : Good news: getting to Paris is quite easy! If you’re planning on flying to the capital, the Captain recommends Skyscanner, an online comparator which is perfect for finding the best deals. If your dates are flexible, you can even compare prices over several weeks. Paris is also easily accessible by train and bus. To book your tickets, the Captain highly recommends Omio, which integrates the offer of 207 train and bus companies in 44 countries.


Photo Credits
Erin Johnson | Miguel C. | Sei F

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• Menu
  • Menu
Jardin du Luxembourg - Paris

Le Jardin du Luxembourg à Paris

Accueil » Europe » Europe de l'Ouest » France » Paris » Le Jardin du Luxembourg à Paris
0
(0)

Envie de prendre un grand bol d’air frais entre deux visites au coeur de la capitale française ? Cap sur l’emblématique Jardin du Luxembourg : une oasis de tranquillité loin du bruit et de l’agitation !

Suivez le guide !

💡 Bons plans 💡

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’histoire de Paris ? Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement cette visite guidée gratuite de la capitale. À vous de choisir le pourboire que vous voulez laisser au guide !

Vous êtes à la recherche d’un hôtel à Paris ? N’hésitez pas à jeter un coup d’oeil aux recommandations du Capitaine : Où dormir à Paris ? Conseils & recommandations

Petite histoire du Jardin du Luxembourg 

Au début du 17ème siècle, Marie de Médicis, veuve du roi Henri IV, décide de construire dans l’actuel 6ème arrondissement de Paris (alors très peu densément peuplé) un palais inspiré du Palais Pitti de Florence. 

Pour réaliser ce projet — qui comprend également la création de grands jardins à la française —, elle fait appel à l’architecte français Salomon de Brosse. La décoration du palais est quant à elle confiée à une pléiade d’artistes italiens, français et flamands renommés, dont nul autre que Pierre Paul Rubens. Vous trouverez aujourd’hui une partie de ces toiles au Musée du Louvre. 

La construction du palais et des jardins commence en 1612 et s’achève en 1630. Les jardins sont aménagés de manière très formelle, avec des allées rectilignes, des bassins et des fontaines. 

Au fil des siècles,le Jardin du Luxembourg connaît de nombreuses transformations. En 1635, André Le Nôtre, célèbre jardinier du roi Louis XIV, les réaménage en partie. 

À la Révolution, le Palais du Luxembourg est converti en prison — où sera notamment enfermé Danton — et le jardin est laissé à l’abandon. Les terres du Couvent des Chartreux voisin — plus de 20 hectares — fusionnent avec le Jardin du Luxembourg. 

Sous l’Empire, Napoléon Ier fait réaménager le jardin de sorte qu’il soit un lieu de jeu pour les enfants, avec notamment des kiosques et des voitures à chèvre ! 

Sous le Second Empire, le baron Haussmann empiète sur les jardins pour ses grands travaux d’urbanisme. 

Pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, le Jardin du Luxembourg est réquisitionné par les Allemands qui y creusent de profonds blockhaus. Il est remis en état à la Libération. 

💡 D’où vient le nom du Jardin du Luxembourg ? 💡

Le Palais et le Jardin du Luxembourg tiennent leur nom de l’hôtel du Luxembourg, un ancien hôtel particulier à l’emplacement duquel ils ont été construits. Ce dernier appartenait à François de Piney-Luxembourg, un cousin éloigné de la Maison de Luxembourg, qui a donné son nom au Duché de Luxembourg. 

Fleurs du Jardin du Luxembourg

Visiter les jardins du Luxembourg 

Niché dans le 6ème arrondissement de Paris, le jardin du Luxembourg s’étend sur pas moins de 23 hectares entre le boulevard Saint-Michel, le boulevard Saint-Germain et la rue de Vaugirard.

Le jardin se partage en deux parties :

  • La première partie est constituée des jardins à la française, qui sont aménagés de manière très formelle, avec des allées rectilignes, des bassins et des fontaines. Cette partie des jardins comprend également une grande pelouse, des parterres de fleurs, des arbres et des buissons taillés en topiaire, ainsi que de nombreuses statues et sculptures.
  • La seconde partie des jardins est plus anglaise dans son style, avec des allées sinueuses, des arbres et des buissons plus libres et plus sauvages. 

Le Jardin du Luxembourg abrite par ailleurs plusieurs bâtiments emblématiques :

Le Palais du Luxembourg 

Construit au début du 17ème siècle, le Palais du Luxembourg abrite aujourd’hui le Sénat. De style classique, le bâtiment est construit en pierre de taille. Il suit un plan typique des châteaux français avec un corps de logis (= un bâtiment central) flanqué de deux ailes. L’entrée monumentale est surmontée d’un très beau dôme. 

À l’intérieur, le palais comprend de nombreuses salles de réception, de travail et de délibération, parmi lesquelles la Salle des séances (l’hémicycle où siègent les sénateurs), la Salle du Livre d’Or, la Chapelle, la Salle des conférences ou encore la magnifique bibliothèque.

💡 Informations pratiques 💡

Le Sénat est ouvert au public lors des Journées européennes du patrimoine, qui se tiennent chaque année le 3ème weekend de septembre. 

Jardin du Luxembourg - Palais du Luxembourg

Le Petit Luxembourg

Situé à l’ouest du Jardin du Luxembourg, le Petit Luxembourg (ou hôtel de la Présidence) est un hôtel particulier construit au 16ème siècle qui abrite aujourd’hui la résidence du Président du Sénat. 

Jadis appelé « Hôtel du Luxembourg », c’est cet hôtel particulier que Marie de Médicis acquiert au 17ème siècle pour faire bâtir sur ce domaine le Palais du Luxembourg. 

💡 Informations pratiques 💡

Il est possible de visiter le Petit Luxembourg une fois par an à l’occasion des Journées européennes du patrimoine, le 3ème weekend de septembre. 

Le Musée du Luxembourg

Niché dans une aile construite perpendiculairement à l’orangerie, au niveau de la rue de Vaugirard, le Musée du Luxembourg abrite des expositions artistiques temporaires autour de trois thèmes principaux :la modernité au 20ème siècle, la photographie et les artistes femmes.

💡 Informations pratiques 💡

Vous pouvez découvrir les expositions en cours au Musée du Luxembourg ici. Et pour acheter vos billets en ligne, c’est par ici

L’Orangerie

Située à l’ouest du Jardin du Luxembourg, l’Orangerie est nichée dans un beau bâtiment construit en 1839 sur les plans de l’architecte Alphonse de Gisors.

Elle abrite environ 180 plantes dont des agrumes (des bigaradiers principalement, dont certains vieux de 250 à 300 ans !), des palmiers-dattiers, des lauriers roses ou encore des grenadiers. 

Les serres du Jardin du Luxembourg 

Les serres du Jardin du Luxembourg sont à la fois un lieu de production de plantes pour la décoration des jardins et du palais, mais aussi un lieu de conservation permettant de continuer à faire vivre un patrimoine horticole datant du 19ème siècle. Les serres sont au nombre de trois, et abritent notamment des fougères, des bégonias, et une impressionnante collection d’orchidées. 

💡 Informations pratiques 💡

Comme le Palais du Luxembourg et le Petit Luxembourg, les serres du Jardin du Luxembourg sont ouvertes au public tous les ans à l’occasion des Journées du patrimoine. 

Autres points d’intérêt dans le Jardin du Luxembourg : 

  • Un rucher où s’essayer à l’apiculture sous la direction de la Société centrale d’apiculture
  • Le Pavillon Davioud qui accueille des cours (publics et gratuits) de l’école d’horticulture du Luxembourg ainsi que des expositions artistiques
  • L’ancien Hôtel de Vendôme, un hôtel particulier construit en 1707 qui accueille aujourd’hui l’emblématique École des Mines

Informations pratiques 

Accès

Le Jardin du Luxembourg est situé dans le 6e arrondissement de Paris, dans le quartier du Luxembourg (entre le Quartier latin, Saint-Germain-des-Prés et Montparnasse), à côté du Panthéon. 

Il est bordé par le boulevard Saint-Michel, le boulevard Saint-Germain et la rue de Vaugirard.

Le Jardin du Luxembourg est facilement accessible en métro. Les stations les plus proches sont Luxembourg (RER B), Saint-Sulpice (ligne 4), Mabillon (ligne 10) et Rennes (ligne 12). Le jardin est également accessible en bus : lignes 58, 84, 89, arrêt Musée du Luxembourg ; lignes 63, 70, 86, 96 arrêt Église Saint Sulpice. 

Horaires

Les horaires du Jardin du Luxembourg varient selon la saison. Vous trouverez ici les horaires détaillés. 


👉  Évitez les files d’attentes à Paris : réservez vos billets et visites à l’avance ! 


👉  À la recherche de conseils et de recommandations ? Voici tous les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à Paris !

🛏️   Hébergement : Paris est une ville très touristique et les hébergements ne manquent pas. Pour réserver, le Capitaine vous recommande Booking. Des auberges de jeunesse bon marché aux palaces luxueux, tout y est. Côté localisation, tout dépend de votre budget et de vos envies. Si vous voulez éviter les quartiers les plus chers, le Capitaine vous conseille de regarder du côté des 12ème et 13ème arrondissements, moins centraux, mais très bien reliés au centre de Paris. La Butte aux Cailles, avec ses airs de village en plein Paris, est d’ailleurs l’un des quartiers préférés du Capitaine. Si vous voulez en revanche poser vos valises dans un très bel hôtel parisien, le Capitaine vous donne son top 3 à Paris : le Saint-James, le Dokhan’s et le Le Metropolitan.

🎟️   Activités : pour vos visites et activités à Paris, le Capitaine vous conseille de jeter un coup d’œil au site GetYourGuide et Civitatis. Visites guidées, billets d’entrée, croisières, activités insolites : vous avez l’embarras du choix. Pour éviter les longues files d’attente devant les musées et monuments de la capitale, le Capitaine vous recommande par ailleurs d’opter pour des billets coupe-files réservables à l’avance.

⛵  Croisières : Que serait Paris sans la Seine ? Le Capitaine adore voguer sur le fleuve à la découverte des monuments emblématiques de la capitale, surtout à la tombée de la nuit. Pour retrouver une large sélection de croisières à Paris, c’est ici.

🎫   Citypass : Si vous passez plusieurs jours dans la capitale, il peut être intéressant d’investir dans un city pass donnant accès aux sites et monuments les plus emblématiques de Paris. Le gros plus de ces pass : les réductions et les accès coupe-files.

🚐   Transferts : les aéroports parisiens sont situés en dehors de la capitale et rejoindre le centre de Paris peut être quelque peu coûteux, y compris en transport en commun.
Si votre budget est serré, nous vous recommandons les navettes RATP qui vous déposent à Opéra depuis l’aéroport de Roissy et à Denfert-Rochereau depuis l’aéroport de Roissy.
Mais pour quelques euros de plus, vous pouvez réserver un transfert qui vous déposera directement à votre hôtel.
Si vous voyagez en groupe, cette option est d’autant plus intéressante et rentable. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

🚌   Transports sur place : si Paris est une ville relativement dense qui se visite assez facilement à pied, vous aurez sûrement besoin d’utiliser les transports en commun pour explorer des coins de la capitale un petit peu plus excentrés. Pour éviter d’accumuler (et de perdre) les tickets de métro, il est possible d’opter pour un pass transport illimité, très pratique. Vous pouvez l’acheter directement à une borne dans une station de métro ou dans un guichet de la RATP.
Pour allier l’utile à l’agréable, vous pouvez aussi choisir de vous déplacer en bus à arrêts multiples (audioguide inclus).
Si vous préférez le bateau, il existe aussi le batobus, une navette fluviale sur la Seine !

✈️  Vols, trains & bus : Paris est une ville facilement accessible en avion, en voiture, en train et en bus. Pour vos vols, le Capitaine vous recommande chaudement le comparateur Skyscanner, idéal pour dégoter les meilleurs prix. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pouvez même comparer les tarifs sur plusieurs semaines pour trouver LE bon plan. Paris est aussi une ville facilement accessible en train et en bus. Pour réserver vos trajets, nous vous conseillons chaudement le site Trainline qui permet de voyager à travers 44 pays avec 207 compagnies ferroviaires et de bus.


Crédits Photos
Erin Johnson | Miguel C. | Sei F

Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : 0 / 5. Nombre de votes : 0

Pas de notes pour le moment. Soyez le premier à donner vote avis !

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *