• Menu
  • Menu
Elizabeth II Flower Market

The Marché aux Fleurs in Paris (Flower Market)

Accueil » Europe » Western Europe » France » Paris » The Marché aux Fleurs in Paris (Flower Market)
0
(0)

Nestled on the Île de la Cité, in the 4th arrondissement of Paris, the Marché aux fleurs is undoubtedly one of the most picturesque corners of the French capital!

Follow the guide!

💡 The Captain’s tip 💡
Want to find out more about the history of Paris? Captain Ulysses highly recommends this free guided tour of the capital. It’s up to you to choose how much you wish to tip the tour guide!

Brief history of the Paris Flower Market

The origins of the Marché aux Fleurs in Paris

The Marché aux Fleurs de Paris was founded in 1808. The city of Paris acquired a vacant lot on the Île de la Cité, on the banks of the Seine, and decided to transfer the market from its previous location on the other side of the river.

The Marché aux fleurs remained an open-air market until the 1870s. As part of the Haussmannian works, several streets in the vicinity were destroyed in order to enlarge the market, which was then equipped with metal pavilions rented to flower sellers.

Elizabeth II Flower Market

The Paris Flower Market in the 20th century

At the beginning of the 20th century, the Marché aux fleurs was largely destroyed to allow for the construction of the Cité metro station (line 4), which was inaugurated in 1910.

The market isn’t rebuilt until the mid-1920’s. The market is made up of three rows of wrought iron pavilions with glass roofs, as well as two Wallace fountains, now classified as historical monuments.

A journalist of the time wrote: “Paris now has a pretty flower market […]. Large awnings that rise to the highest branches of the paulownias of the square cast a high and fresh shadow on the flowers […]. The flower market is a delightful place to visit in the summer”.

💦 What are Wallace fountains? 💦
Designed by the French sculptor Charles-Auguste Lebourg, the Wallace fountains are public cast iron fountains installed at the end of the 19th century in Paris (and in a few other cities around the world) at the initiative of English philanthropist Sir Richard Wallace. The Wallace fountains have become a symbol of the French capital.

The Marché aux fleurs Reine Elizabeth II

In June 2014, Queen Elizabeth II visited France for the commemorations of the 70th anniversary of the D-Day landings.

On this occasion, the Marché aux fleurs et aux oiseaux (Paris Flower and Bird Market) was officially renamed “Queen Elizabeth II Flower Market” in honor of the British monarch.

The Paris Flower Market gets a makeover

The Paris Flower Market has unsuprisingly lost some of its glory as it has not been renovated since the 1970s.

The Paris City Council therefore decided to have the historical market renovated. While there is much debate about the nature of the market’s rehabilitation (modernization or renovation of the existing pavilions as they were), the proponents of a “simple” restoration of the historic pavilions seem to be winning the day.

The area will also be made pedestrian-friendly and parking spaces will be replaced by vegetated patches.

Work will begin in 2023 and is expected to be completed in 2025. In the meantime, the merchants renting the pavilions will be relocated to a temporary hall where they will be able to continue to please botany lovers… as well as curious visitors!

Paris - Flower market

Visiting the Marché aux Fleurs

The Flower Market

Attention, botany lovers! The Paris Flower Market is heaven on earth for gardening amateurs.

On the menu? Indoor plants, local and seasonal flowers and shrubs, exotic varieties… In short, something to satisfy all gardeners, beginners as well as experts!

And even if you don’t have a green thumb, the Marché aux fleurs is perfect for a quiet stroll far from the city’s hustle and bustle.

The Paris Flower Market is definitely one of the most picturesque spots in the capital… and truly one of Captain Ulysses’ favorites in Paris!

Flower market - Paris

The Bird Market

Every Sunday, the Bird Market displays a wide variety of birds, both quite ordinary and much rarer. Bird owners can also shop for cages, seeds and accessories.

You will also find small pets such as rodents.

🦜 Bird Market scheduled to end in 2025 🦜
In February 2021, the Paris Council voted to end the sale of birds at the Marché aux fleurs in the name of animal welfare.
The Bird Market is scheduled to close down after the completion of rehabilitation work in 2025.

Elizabeth II Flower Market

Access

Getting to the Paris Flower Market

The Paris Flower Market is located on the Place Louis Lépine, in the heart of the Île de la Cité, a stone’s throw from the capital’s tourist sites and monuments (Notre-Dame-de-Paris, the Conciergerie, the Sainte-Chapelle, the Place Saint-Michel, Shakespeare and Company…)

The nearest metro station is Cité, on line 4. Numerous city buses lines 21, 38, 47, 75, 96 | stop Cité – Parvis Notre-Dame) as well as sightseeing tour buses also stop nearby.

Opening times

The Paris Flower Market is open every day from 9:30 am to 7 pm. The Bird Market is only open on Sundays.

Admission rates

Admission to the Flower Market is free! 😊


👉 Skip the lines in Paris: book your tickets and tours in advance!


Looking for tips and recommendations? Here are all of Captain Ulysses’ suggestions!

🛏️ Accommodation: Looking for an accommodation in Paris? Good news: there are plenty of options in the French capital. To book your hotel in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends the website Booking.com. From cheap hostels to luxury palaces, you’ll have plenty of options to chose from. As for the localisation, it depends both on your budget and on what you’re looking for. If you can’t afford staying in the most expensive areas of the capital, the Captain recommends that you look for a hotel in the 12th or 13th arrondissements: they’re not as central, but are very well connected to the centre of Paris. The Buttes au Cailles, which looks just like a small village, is one of the Captain’s favourite neighbourhoods in Paris. If you’d rather stay in a chic and sophisticated hotel, here are the best 3 options according to the Captain: the St. James , the Dokhan’s and the Metropolitan .

🎟️ Activities : in order to book skip-the-line tickets, tours and activities in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends GetYourGuide and Civitatis. Guided tours, entrance tickets, cruises, unusual activities: there’s plenty to chose from. If you want to avoid queuing to get into museums and monuments, the Captain suggests opting for skip-the-line tickets.

⛵ City cruises: Can you really visit Paris without going on a cruise on the Seine? The Captain loves sailing on the river and admiring the emblematic monuments of the French capital, especially at nightfall. You will find a large selection of cruises in Paris here.

🎫 City cards : If you’re planning on staying in Paris for a few days, you should definitely consider investing in a city card giving access to the capital’s top museums and landmarks. which includes access to the most famous monuments in Paris.

🚐 Transfers: the Parisian airports are located outside the city and getting to the city centre can be quite expensive.
If your budget is tight, the Captain recommends the RATP shuttles that will drop you off at Opera if you’re coming from Roissy airport and at Denfert-Rochereau if you’re coming from Orly airport.
But for a few extra euros, you can book a transfer that will take you directly to your hotel.
If you are traveling in a group, this option is all the more interesting. Find out more here.

🚌 Transports: While you’ll be able to explore part of the city on foot, you will have to use the parisian public transports to explore some of the capital’s landmarks. In order to avoid accumulating (and losing) metro tickets, the Captain recommends opting for an unlimited transport pass. You can buy it directly at in any metro station.
Open tour buses (audioguides included) are also a good option.
If you’d rather explore Paris on a boat, you will love the batobus, a river shuttle on the Seine !

✈️ Flights, trains & buses : Good news: getting to Paris is quite easy! If you’re planning on flying to the capital, the Captain recommends Skyscanner, an online comparator which is perfect for finding the best deals. If your dates are flexible, you can even compare prices over several weeks. Paris is also easily accessible by train and bus. To book your tickets, the Captain highly recommends Omio, which integrates the offer of 207 train and bus companies in 44 countries.


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• Menu
  • Menu
Marché aux fleurs Elizabeth II

Le Marché aux fleurs de Paris

Accueil » Europe » Europe de l'Ouest » France » Paris » Le Marché aux fleurs de Paris
0
(0)

Niché sur l’Île de la Cité, dans le 4ème arrondissement de Paris, le Marché aux fleurs est sans nul doute l’un des coins les plus pittoresques de la capitale française !

En route moussaillons : le Capitaine Ulysse vous emmène à la découverte de cette oasis de verdure au cœur de la ville !

💡 Le bon plan 💡
Vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’histoire de Paris ? Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement cette visite guidée gratuite de la capitale. À vous de choisir le pourboire que vous voulez laisser au guide !

Petite histoire du Marché aux fleurs de Paris

Aux origines du Marché aux fleurs de Paris

Le Marché aux fleurs de Paris voit le jour en 1808. La ville de Paris acquiert un terrain vague situé sur l’Île de la Cité, au bord de la Seine, et décide d’y transférer le marché qui était jusque-là installé de l’autre côté du fleuve.

Le Marché aux fleurs demeure un marché à ciel ouvert jusqu’aux années 1870. Dans le cadre des travaux haussmanniens, plusieurs rues des alentours sont détruites pour permettre d’agrandir le marché qui est alors doté de pavillons métalliques loués à des vendeurs de fleurs.

Marché aux fleurs Elizabeth II

Le Marché aux fleurs au 20ème siècle

Au début du 20ème siècle, le Marché aux fleurs est en grande partie rasé pour permettre la construction de la station de métro Cité (ligne 4), qui sera inaugurée en 1910.

Il faut attendre le milieu des années 1920 pour que le Marché au Fleur soit reconstruit. Le marché est pourvu de trois lignes de pavillons en fers forgés surmontés d’une toiture en verre, ainsi que de deux fontaines Wallace, aujourd’hui classées monuments historiques.

Un journaliste de l’époque écrit : « Paris a maintenant un joli marché aux fleurs […]. De larges auvents qui s’élèvent jusqu’aux plus premières branches des paulownias de la place jettent sur les fleurs une ombre haute et fraîche […]. Le marché aux fleurs est un endroit délicieux à fréquenter en été ».

💦 Que sont les fontaines Wallace ? 💦
Dessinées par le sculpteur français Charles-Auguste Lebourg, les fontaines Wallace sont des fontaines publiques en fonte installées à la fin du 19ème siècle à Paris (et dans quelques autres villes du monde) à l’initiative du philanthrope anglais Sir Richard Wallace. Les fontaines Wallace sont devenues un véritable symbole de la capitale française.

Le Marché aux fleurs Reine Elizabeth II

En juin 2014, la Reine Elizabeth II est de passage en France à l’occasion des commémorations du 70ème anniversaire du débarquement.

À cette occasion, le Marché aux fleurs et aux oiseaux de Paris est officiellement renommé « Marché aux fleurs Reine-Elizabeth-II » en l’honneur de la monarque britannique.

Le Marché aux fleurs de Paris se refait une beauté

Au début des années 2020, le Marché aux fleurs de Paris a quelque peu perdu de sa superbe. Il faut dire qu’il n’a pas été rénové depuis les années 1970.

Le Conseil de Paris entérine donc la rénovation du marché bicentenaire. Si les débats sont houleux quant à la nature de la réhabilitation du marché (modernisation ou rénovation des pavillons existants), les partisans d’une « simple » restauration des pavillons historiques remportent la partie.

La zone sera également rendue piétonne et les places de stationnement seront remplacées par des espaces végétalisés.

Les travaux commenceront en 2023 et devraient s’achever en 2025. En attendant, les marchands locataires des pavillons seront relogés dans une halle provisoire où ils pourront continuer de faire le plaisir des amoureux de botanique comme des curieux !

Paris - Marché aux fleurs

Visiter le Marché aux fleurs et aux oiseaux de Paris

Le Marché aux fleurs

Avis aux amateurs de botanique ! Le Marché aux fleurs de Paris est un vrai paradis pour les amoureux de fleurs et d’arbustes.

Au menu ? Plantes d’intérieur, fleurs et arbustes locaux et de saison, variétés exotiques… Bref de quoi satisfaire tous les jardiniers, débutants comme confirmés !

Et même si vous n’avez pas la main verte, le Marché aux fleurs est l’endroit idéal pour se promener tranquillement et prendre une grande bouffée d’air frais, à mille lieues du bruit et de l’agitation.

Pas de doute : le Marché aux fleurs de Paris est décidément l’un des spots les plus pittoresques de la capitale… l’un des gros coups de cœur du Capitaine Ulysse à Paris !

Marché aux fleurs - Paris

Le Marché aux oiseaux

Tous les dimanches, le Marché aux oiseaux propose quant à lui une grande variété d’oiseaux, ordinaires ou beaucoup plus rares. Les propriétaires d’oiseaux peuvent aussi y faire leurs emplettes, entre cages, graines et accessoires.

Vous y trouverez également des petits animaux d’agrément de type rongeurs.

🦜 Fin du Marché aux oiseaux programmée pour 2025 🦜
En février 2021, le Conseil de Paris vote la fin de la vente d’oiseaux au Marché aux fleurs au nom du bien-être animal.
La fermeture du Marché aux oiseaux prendra effet après la fin des travaux de réhabilitation, prévue en 2025.

Le Marché aux fleurs Elizabeth II

Informations pratiques

Accès au Marché aux fleurs de Paris

Le Marché aux fleurs de Paris est situé sur la Place Louis Lépine, au cœur de l’Île de la Cité, à deux pas de sites et monuments touristiques de la capitale (Notre-Dame-de-Paris, la Conciergerie, la Sainte-Chapelle, la Place Saint-Michel, Shakespeare and Company…)

La station de métro la plus proche est la station Cité, sur la ligne 4. De nombreux bus de ville font également halte à proximité (lignes 21, 38, 47, 75, 96 | arrêt Cité – Parvis Notre-Dame), tout comme les bus touristiques à arrêts multiples.

Horaires du Marché aux fleurs et aux oiseaux de Paris

Le Marché aux fleurs de Paris est ouvert tous les jours de 9h30 à 19h. Le Marché aux oiseaux n’est ouvert que le dimanche.

Tarifs du Marché aux fleurs

L’accès au Marché aux fleurs est bien entendu gratuit ! 😊


👉  Évitez les files d’attentes à Paris : réservez vos billets et visites à l’avance ! 


À la recherche de conseils et de recommandations ? Voici tous les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à Paris !

🛏️   Hébergement : Paris est une ville très touristique et les hébergements ne manquent pas. Pour réserver, le Capitaine vous recommande Booking. Des auberges de jeunesse bon marché aux palaces luxueux, tout y est. Côté localisation, tout dépend de votre budget et de vos envies. Si vous voulez éviter les quartiers les plus chers, le Capitaine vous conseille de regarder du côté des 12ème et 13ème arrondissements, moins centraux, mais très bien reliés au centre de Paris. La Butte aux Cailles, avec ses airs de village en plein Paris, est d’ailleurs l’un des quartiers préférés du Capitaine. Si vous voulez en revanche poser vos valises dans un très bel hôtel parisien, le Capitaine vous donne son top 3 à Paris : le Saint-James, le Dokhan’s et le Le Metropolitan.

🎟️   Activités : pour vos visites et activités à Paris, le Capitaine vous conseille de jeter un coup d’œil au site GetYourGuide et Civitatis. Visites guidées, billets d’entrée, croisières, activités insolites : vous avez l’embarras du choix. Pour éviter les longues files d’attente devant les musées et monuments de la capitale, le Capitaine vous recommande par ailleurs d’opter pour des billets coupe-files réservables à l’avance.

⛵  Croisières : Que serait Paris sans la Seine ? Le Capitaine adore voguer sur le fleuve à la découverte des monuments emblématiques de la capitale, surtout à la tombée de la nuit. Pour retrouver une large sélection de croisières à Paris, c’est ici.

🎫   Citypass : Si vous passez plusieurs jours dans la capitale, il peut être intéressant d’investir dans un city pass donnant accès aux sites et monuments les plus emblématiques de Paris. Le gros plus de ces pass : les réductions et les accès coupe-files.

🚐   Transferts : les aéroports parisiens sont situés en dehors de la capitale et rejoindre le centre de Paris peut être quelque peu coûteux, y compris en transport en commun.
Si votre budget est serré, nous vous recommandons les navettes RATP qui vous déposent à Opéra depuis l’aéroport de Roissy et à Denfert-Rochereau depuis l’aéroport de Roissy.
Mais pour quelques euros de plus, vous pouvez réserver un transfert qui vous déposera directement à votre hôtel.
Si vous voyagez en groupe, cette option est d’autant plus intéressante et rentable. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

🚌   Transports sur place : si Paris est une ville relativement dense qui se visite assez facilement à pied, vous aurez sûrement besoin d’utiliser les transports en commun pour explorer des coins de la capitale un petit peu plus excentrés. Pour éviter d’accumuler (et de perdre) les tickets de métro, il est possible d’opter pour un pass transport illimité, très pratique. Vous pouvez l’acheter directement à une borne dans une station de métro ou dans un guichet de la RATP.
Pour allier l’utile à l’agréable, vous pouvez aussi choisir de vous déplacer en bus à arrêts multiples (audioguide inclus).
Si vous préférez le bateau, il existe aussi le batobus, une navette fluviale sur la Seine !

✈️  Vols, trains & bus : Paris est une ville facilement accessible en avion, en voiture, en train et en bus. Pour vos vols, le Capitaine vous recommande chaudement le comparateur Skyscanner, idéal pour dégoter les meilleurs prix. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pouvez même comparer les tarifs sur plusieurs semaines pour trouver LE bon plan. Paris est aussi une ville facilement accessible en train et en bus. Pour réserver vos trajets, nous vous conseillons chaudement le site Trainline qui permet de voyager à travers 44 pays avec 207 compagnies ferroviaires et de bus.


Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : 0 / 5. Nombre de votes : 0

Pas de notes pour le moment. Soyez le premier à donner vote avis !

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *