• Menu
  • Menu
Musée du Quai Branly

The Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac in Paris

Accueil » Europe » Western Europe » France » Paris » The Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac in Paris
0
(0)

Nestled on the banks of the Seine, a few steps from the Eiffel Tower, the Musée du Quai Branly is one of the largest museums in Europe dedicated to ethnography and tribal art. Designed by architect Jean Nouvel and inaugurated in 2006, the museum exhibits more than 300,000 objects from African, Asian, Oceanian and American cultures, ranging from prehistory to the present day.

An invitation to explore the cultural diversity of the world.

Follow the guide!

💡 The Captain’s tip 💡

Want to know more about the history of Paris? Captain Ulysses highly recommends this free guided tour of the capital. It’s up to you to choose how much you wish to tip the tour guide!

Are you looking for a hotel in Paris? Feel free to take a look at the Captain’s article: Where to sleep in Paris ? Advice & recommendations

A short history of the Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac

Inaugurated in 2006, the Musée du Quai Branly was created on the initiative of Jacques Chirac, President of the Republic from 1995 to 2007 and a lover of “primitive arts”.

The idea of creating a museum dedicated to the arts and cultures of indigenous peoples and non-Western civilizations had been brought to the attention of Jacques Chirac, then Mayor of Paris, a few years earlier, and Chirac had made the creation of this museum one of his priorities during his term of office.

In 1999, a major international competition was launched to select the architect who would design the museum. Jean Nouvel – who would later design the Philharmonie de Paris, the Louvre Abu Dhabi Museum and the Qatar National Museum in Doha – won the competition.

The Quai Branly Museum is now considered one of the most important museums in Paris and welcomes millions of visitors from all over the world every year.

Visiting the Musée du Quai Branly

Located on the banks of the Seine, the Musée du Quai Branly – also known as the Musée Jacques Chirac – is entirely devoted to the art and culture of indigenous peoples and non-Western civilizations. It features a collection of over 300,000 art objects and cultural artifacts. The museum is also known for its high quality temporary exhibitions.

(Quai Branly Museum)

The architecture of the Quai Branly Museum

Designed by Jean Nouvel, the Musée du Quai Branly’s architecture is undeniably striking.

Located on the banks of the Seine, in the 7th arrondissement of Paris, the museum consists of four buildings, including a main building where the permanent and temporary collections are housed: the “pont-musée” (=”bridge-museum”). This huge metal building echoes the architecture of the neighboring Eiffel Tower. It is flanked by three other buildings: the Bâtiment Université (= University Building), which houses a bookstore, the Bâtiment Branly (= Branly Building), which houses the museum’s administrative services, and the Auvent (= canopy), which houses a media library and the museum’s reserves.

The Musée du Quai Branly is also famous for its immense garden of 17,500 m2. Designed by landscape architect Gilles Clément, it is organized around paths, hills and small ponds inspiring visitors to stroll about and meditate.

One of the facades of the museum overlooking the Quai Branly is also covered with an incomparable plant wall measuring no less than 1,022 square meters / 1,222 square yards and comprising 15,000 plants of 376 different species.

In short, the architecture of the Musée du Quai Branly is as much worth a visit as its impressive collections. The space was designed to be in harmony with the collections presented inside the museum.

Musée du Quai Branly - architecture

How is the Musée du Quai Branly organized?

The Quai Branly Museum is organized around four major collections that echo the continents: the African collection, the Asian collection, the Oceanian collection and the American collection.

Each collection is divided into different sections that present the art objects and cultures of indigenous peoples and non-western civilizations.

Different galleries also host temporary thematic exhibitions.

  • The African collections: they are divided into 5 large sections dedicated to North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, East Africa and Southern Africa.
  • The Asian collections: they are divided into two large sections dedicated to India and Indonesia.
  • The Oceanian collections: they are divided into three large sections dedicated to Oceanic Indonesia, Papua and Australia.
  • The American collections: they are divided into three large sections dedicated to North America, Mesoamerica and South America.

The works and artifacts exhibited at the Musée du Quai Branly

The Quai Branly Museum houses a collection of more than 300,000 art and cultural objects from every continent: masks, jewelry, tapestries, statues, everyday objects (bowls, etc.), etc.

Musée du Quai Branly - Punu mask

Temporary exhibitions at the Musée du Quai Branly

The Musée du Quai Branly is also famous for its impressive temporary thematic exhibitions. Approximately 40% of the museum’s surface is dedicated to temporary exhibitions. There are about ten of them per year on various and varied themes.

For example, the Quai Branly Museum has in the past presented exhibitions dedicated to the Samurai, Patagonia, Native Forests, Madagascar, Asian ghosts and tattooing.

Access

Getting to the Musée du Quai Branly

Nestled in the 7th arrondissement, the Musée du Quai Branly is located on the banks of the Seine, near the Eiffel Tower and the Musée d’Orsay.

The museum is easily accessible by public transport:

  • Metro: the nearest metro stations are “Alma-Marceau” and “Iéna”, on line 9.
  • Bus: several bus lines stop near the Quai Branly Museum, notably lines 42, 63, 72, 80, 83 and 93.
  • Vélib’ : it is also possible to go to the Quai Branly Museum by Vélib’, the self-service bicycle system of the city of Paris. You will find several Velib’ stations near the museum.

Good to know: the museum is accessible to disabled visitors thanks to an elevator and an inclined plane.

Opening times of the Musée du Quai Branly

The Musée du Quai Branly is open every day of the year except on Mondays:

  • Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, from 10:30 am to 7 pm (last entry at 6 pm)
  • Thursday from 10:30 am to 10 pm (last entry at 9 pm)

Admission rates

The admission ticket includes access to the museum’s temporary and permanent collections. It is available at the price of 12 euros in full price, 9 euros in reduced price.

You can also visit the Musée du Quai Branly for free on the first Sunday of each month, but it is recommended to get there early as the lines can be long.

⚠️ Be warned, the Musée du Quai Branly is a victim of its own success. Captain Ulysses strongly recommends you to book your ticket in advance to be sure to visit the museum: ticket for the Musée du Quai Branly .

💡The Captain’s tip: access to the Quai Branly Museum is also included in the Museum Pass. It provides direct access to more than 60 museums and monuments in Paris, including the Louvre Museum, the Musée d’Orsay and the Centre Pompidou.
More information: Paris Museum Pass


👉 Skip the lines in Paris: book your tickets and tours in advance!


👉 Looking for advice and recommendations? Here are all of Captain Ulysses’ suggestions!

🛏️ Accommodation: Looking for an accommodation in Paris? Good news: there are plenty of options in the French capital. To book your hotel in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends the website Booking.com. From cheap hostels to luxury palaces, you’ll have plenty of options to chose from. As for the localisation, it depends both on your budget and on what you’re looking for. If you can’t afford staying in the most expensive areas of the capital, the Captain recommends that you look for a hotel in the 12th or 13th arrondissements: they’re not as central, but are very well connected to the centre of Paris. The Buttes au Cailles, which looks just like a small village, is one of the Captain’s favourite neighbourhoods in Paris. If you’d rather stay in a chic and sophisticated hotel, here are the best 3 options according to the Captain: the St. James , the Dokhan’s and the Metropolitan .

🎟️ Activities : in order to book skip-the-line tickets, tours and activities in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends GetYourGuide and Civitatis. Guided tours, entrance tickets, cruises, unusual activities: there’s plenty to chose from. If you want to avoid queuing to get into museums and monuments, the Captain suggests opting for skip-the-line tickets.

⛵ City cruises: Can you really visit Paris without going on a cruise on the Seine? The Captain loves sailing on the river and admiring the emblematic monuments of the French capital, especially at nightfall. You will find a large selection of cruises in Paris here.

🎫 Citypass : If you’re planning on staying in Paris for a few days, you should definitely consider investing in a city pass giving access to the capital’s top museums and landmarks. which includes access to the most famous monuments in Paris.

🚐 Transfers: the parisian airports are located outside the city and getting to the city centre can be quite expensive.
If your budget is tight, the Captain recommends the RATP shuttles that will drop you off at Opera if you’re coming from Roissy airport and at Denfert-Rochereau if you’re coming from Orly airport.
But for a few extra euros, you can book a transfer that will take you directly to your hotel.
If you are traveling in a group, this option is all the more interesting. Find out more here.

🚌 Transports: While you’ll be able to explore part of the city on foot, you will have to use the parisian public transports to explore some of the capital’s landmarks. In order to avoid accumulating (and losing) metro tickets, the Captain recommends opting for an unlimited transport pass. You can buy it directly at in any metro station.
Open tour buses (audioguides included) are also a good option.
If you’d rather explore Paris on a boat, you will love the batobus, a river shuttle on the Seine !

✈️ Flights, trains & buses : Good news: getting to Paris is quite easy! If you’re planning on flying to the capital, the Captain recommends Skyscanner, an online comparator which is perfect for finding the best deals. If your dates are flexible, you can even compare prices over several weeks. Paris is also easily accessible by train and bus. To book your tickets, the Captain highly recommends Trainline, which integrates the offer of 207 train and bus companies in 44 countries.

Credits
Timothy Brown | Wikimedia Commons

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• Menu
  • Menu
Musée du Quai Branly

Le Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac à Paris

Accueil » Europe » Europe de l'Ouest » France » Paris » Le Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac à Paris
0
(0)

Niché sur les quais de Seine, à quelques pas de la Tour Eiffel, le Musée du Quai Branly est l’un des plus grands musées d’Europe dédiés à l’ethnographie et à l’art tribal. Conçu par l’architecte Jean Nouvel et inauguré en 2006, le musée expose plus de 300 000 objets issus de cultures d’Afrique, d’Asie, d’Océanie et des Amériques, allant de la préhistoire à nos jours. 

Lieu de découverte, de transmission et de partage, le Musée du Quai Branly invite à explorer les diversités culturelles du monde.

Suivez le guide ! 

💡 Bons plans 💡

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’histoire de Paris ? Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement cette visite guidée gratuite de la capitale. À vous de choisir le pourboire que vous voulez laisser au guide !

Vous êtes à la recherche d’un hôtel à Paris ? N’hésitez pas à jeter un coup d’oeil aux recommandations du Capitaine : Où dormir à Paris ? Conseils & recommandations

Petite histoire du Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac

Inauguré en 2006, le musée du quai Branly voit le jour à l’initiative de Jacques Chirac, Président de la République de 1995 à 2007 et passionné des « arts premiers ». 

L’idée de créer un musée consacré aux arts et aux cultures des peuples autochtones et des civilisations non occidentales avait été portée à l’attention de Jacques Chirac, alors Maire de Paris, quelques années plus tôt, et Chirac avait fait de la création de ce musée l’une de ses priorités durant son mandat.

En 1999, un grand concours international est lancé pour désigner l’architecte à qui sera confiée la conception du musée. C’est Jean Nouvel — qui dessinera plus tard les plans de la Philharmonie de Paris, du Musée du Louvre Abou Dabi ou encore du Musée National du Qatar à Doha — qui remporte le concours. 

Le musée du Quai Branly est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’un des musées les plus incontournables de la ville de Paris et accueille chaque année des millions de visiteurs venus du monde entier.

Visiter le musée du Quai Branly 

Situé sur les quais de Seine, le Musée du Quai Branly — aussi appelé Musée Jacques Chirac — est entièrement consacré à l’art et à la culture des peuples autochtones et des civilisations non occidentales. Il présente une collection de plus de 300 000 objets d’art et artefacts culturels. Le musée est aussi connu pour ses expositions temporaires de très grande qualité. 

(Musée du Quai Branly)

L’architecture du Musée du Quai Branly

Conçu par l’architecte Jean Nouvel, le musée du Quai Branly frappe indéniablement par son originalité.

Situé au bord de la Seine, dans le 7ème arrondissement de Paris, le musée est composé de quatre bâtiments, dont un bâtiment principal où sont exposées les collections permanentes et temporaires : le « pont-musée ». Cet immense édifice métallique fait écho à la Tour Eiffel voisine. Il est flanqué de trois autres bâtiments : le Bâtiment Université qui abrite une librairie, le Bâtiment Branly qui accueille les services administratifs du musée et l’Auvent où se trouve une médiathèque ainsi que les réserves du musée. 

Le Musée du Quai Branly est aussi célèbre pour son immense jardin vaste de 17 500 m2. Imaginé par l’architecte-paysagiste Gilles Clément, il s’organise autour de sentiers, de collines et de petits bassins invitant à la flânerie et la méditation. 

L’une des façades du musée donnant sur le Quai Branly est aussi habillée d’un incomparable mur végétal grand de pas moins de 1022 m2 et comprenant 15 000 végétaux de 376 espèces différentes. 

En bref, l’architecture du Musée du Quai Branly vaut tout autant le détour que ses impressionnantes collections. Les lieux ont d’ailleurs été conçus pour être en harmonie avec les collections présentées à l’intérieur du musée. 

Musée du Quai Branly - architecture

Comment s’organise le musée du quai Branly ?

Le musée du quai Branly est organisé autour de quatre grandes collections faisant écho aux continents : les collections d’Afrique,  d’Asie, d’Océanie et des Amériques. 

Chaque collection est divisée en différentes sections qui présentent les objets d’art et les cultures des peuples autochtones et des civilisations non occidentales.

Différentes galeries accueillent aussi des expositions thématiques temporaires. 

  • Les collections d’Afrique : elles sont divisées en 5 grandes sections dédiées à l’Afrique du Nord, l’Afrique de l’Ouest, l’Afrique centrale, l’Afrique de l’Est et l’Afrique australe. 
  • Les collections d’Asie : elles sont divisées en deux grandes sections dédiées à l’Inde et l’Indonésie asiatique. 
  • Les collections d’Océanie : elles sont divisées en trois grandes sections dédiées à l’Indonésie océanienne, la Papouasie et l’Australie. 
  • Les collections des Amériques : elles sont divisées en trois grandes sections dédiées à l’Amérique du Nord, la Mésoamérique et l’Amérique du Sud. 

Les œuvres et artefacts exposés au Musée du Quai Branly

Le musée du quai Branly abrite une collection de plus de 300 000 objets d’art et de cultures provenant de tous les continents : des masques, des bijoux, des tapisseries, des statues, des objets du quotidien (bols…), etc. 

Musée du Quai Branly - Masque Punu

Les expositions temporaires du Musée du Quai Branly

Le Musée du Quai Branly est aussi célèbre pour ses expositions temporaires thématiques de très grande qualité. Environ 40 % de la surface du musée est d’ailleurs dédiée à des expositions temporaires. On en compte une dizaine par an sur des thèmes divers et variés. 

À titre d’exemple, le Musée du Quai Branly a par le passé présenté des expositions consacrées aux Samouraïs, à la Patagonie, aux Forêts natales, à Madagascar, aux fantômes d’Asie ou encore au tatouage. 

Informations pratiques 

Accès

Niché dans le 7ème arrondissement, le Musée du Quai Branly prend ses quartiers sur les quais de Seine, près de la Tour Eiffel et du musée d’Orsay

Le musée est facilement accessible en transports en commun ou même à vélo : 

  • En métro : les stations les plus proches sont les stations de métro « Alma-Marceau » et « Iéna », sur la ligne 9.
  • En bus : plusieurs lignes de bus s’arrêtent à proximité du Musée du Quai Branly, notamment les lignes 42, 63, 72, 80, 83 et 93.
  • En Vélib’ : il est également possible de se rendre au musée du quai Branly en Vélib’, le système de vélos en libre-service de la ville de Paris. Vous trouverez plusieurs stations de Vélib’ à proximité du musée.

Bon à savoir : le musée est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite grâce à un ascenseur et à un plan incliné qui permettent de se déplacer entre les différents niveaux du bâtiment.

Horaires du Musée du Quai Branly

Le musée du quai Branly est ouvert tous les jours de l’année, sauf le lundi :

  • les mardi, mercredi, vendredi, samedi et dimanche, de 10h30 à 19h (dernière entrée à 18h)
  • Le  jeudi de 10h30 à 22h (dernière entrée à 21h)

Tarifs du Musée du Quai Branly 

Le billet d’entrée inclut l’accès aux collections temporaires et permanentes du musée. Il est disponible au prix de 12 euros en tarif plein, 9 euros en tarif réduit. 

Il est également possible de visiter le musée du quai Branly gratuitement le premier dimanche de chaque mois, mais il est recommandé de se rendre tôt sur place, car les files d’attente peuvent être longues.

⚠️ Attention, le Musée du Quai Branly est victime de son succès. Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande donc fortement de réserver votre billet à l’avance pour être certain de pouvoir visiter le musée : billet pour le Musée du Quai Branly.

💡Le bon plan : l’accès au Musée du Quai Branly est aussi inclus dans le Museum Pass. Ce dernier permet de profiter d’un accès direct à plus de 60 musées et monuments parisiens, dont le Musée du Louvre, le Musée d’Orsay et le Centre Pompidou.
En savoir plus : Paris Museum Pass


👉  Évitez les files d’attentes à Paris : réservez vos billets et visites à l’avance ! 


👉  À la recherche de conseils et de recommandations ? Voici tous les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à Paris !

🛏️   Hébergement : Paris est une ville très touristique et les hébergements ne manquent pas. Pour réserver, le Capitaine vous recommande Booking. Des auberges de jeunesse bon marché aux palaces luxueux, tout y est. Côté localisation, tout dépend de votre budget et de vos envies. Si vous voulez éviter les quartiers les plus chers, le Capitaine vous conseille de regarder du côté des 12ème et 13ème arrondissements, moins centraux, mais très bien reliés au centre de Paris. La Butte aux Cailles, avec ses airs de village en plein Paris, est d’ailleurs l’un des quartiers préférés du Capitaine. Si vous voulez en revanche poser vos valises dans un très bel hôtel parisien, le Capitaine vous donne son top 3 à Paris : le Saint-James, le Dokhan’s et le Le Metropolitan.

🎟️   Activités : pour vos visites et activités à Paris, le Capitaine vous conseille de jeter un coup d’œil au site GetYourGuide et Civitatis. Visites guidées, billets d’entrée, croisières, activités insolites : vous avez l’embarras du choix. Pour éviter les longues files d’attente devant les musées et monuments de la capitale, le Capitaine vous recommande par ailleurs d’opter pour des billets coupe-files réservables à l’avance.

⛵  Croisières : Que serait Paris sans la Seine ? Le Capitaine adore voguer sur le fleuve à la découverte des monuments emblématiques de la capitale, surtout à la tombée de la nuit. Pour retrouver une large sélection de croisières à Paris, c’est ici.

🎫   Citypass : Si vous passez plusieurs jours dans la capitale, il peut être intéressant d’investir dans un city pass donnant accès aux sites et monuments les plus emblématiques de Paris. Le gros plus de ces pass : les réductions et les accès coupe-files.

🚐   Transferts : les aéroports parisiens sont situés en dehors de la capitale et rejoindre le centre de Paris peut être quelque peu coûteux, y compris en transport en commun.
Si votre budget est serré, nous vous recommandons les navettes RATP qui vous déposent à Opéra depuis l’aéroport de Roissy et à Denfert-Rochereau depuis l’aéroport de Roissy.
Mais pour quelques euros de plus, vous pouvez réserver un transfert qui vous déposera directement à votre hôtel.
Si vous voyagez en groupe, cette option est d’autant plus intéressante et rentable. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

🚌   Transports sur place : si Paris est une ville relativement dense qui se visite assez facilement à pied, vous aurez sûrement besoin d’utiliser les transports en commun pour explorer des coins de la capitale un petit peu plus excentrés. Pour éviter d’accumuler (et de perdre) les tickets de métro, il est possible d’opter pour un pass transport illimité, très pratique. Vous pouvez l’acheter directement à une borne dans une station de métro ou dans un guichet de la RATP.
Pour allier l’utile à l’agréable, vous pouvez aussi choisir de vous déplacer en bus à arrêts multiples (audioguide inclus).
Si vous préférez le bateau, il existe aussi le batobus, une navette fluviale sur la Seine !

✈️  Vols, trains & bus : Paris est une ville facilement accessible en avion, en voiture, en train et en bus. Pour vos vols, le Capitaine vous recommande chaudement le comparateur Skyscanner, idéal pour dégoter les meilleurs prix. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pouvez même comparer les tarifs sur plusieurs semaines pour trouver LE bon plan. Paris est aussi une ville facilement accessible en train et en bus. Pour réserver vos trajets, nous vous conseillons chaudement le site Trainline qui permet de voyager à travers 44 pays avec 207 compagnies ferroviaires et de bus.

Crédits
Timothy Brown | Wikimedia Commons

Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : 0 / 5. Nombre de votes : 0

Pas de notes pour le moment. Soyez le premier à donner vote avis !

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *