• Menu
  • Menu
Bay of Nafplio

Nafplio: an ancient city nestled in the Peloponnese

Home » Europe » Nafplio: an ancient city nestled in the Peloponnese

Nafplio in a few words

Nestled in the Argolic Gulf, Nafplio is a historical and colourful jewel. As centuries went by, the city was alternately under the control of the Byzantine Empire, the Frank Empire, the Venetians and the Ottomans, before become the country’s first capital city in 1829. Today, an exotic atmosphere still pervades Nafplio’s labyrinthine streets as well as its small seaport.

With its spectacular citadels, its charming city centre and its picturesque little harbour, Nafplio truly is a delight! Unsurprisingly, it is one of the most visited tourist cities in Peloponnese. An endless succession of shops, restaurants and bars are now lined up along its ancient streets. A few miles away from the city, the coastline is punctuated by sandy beaches and enchanting coves, ideal for swimming, sunbathing and relaxation.

In short, Nafplio is a favorite of Captain Ulysses’ and a must-see for anyone traveling through Peloponnese!

Getting to Nafplio

Perched on the coast in the Argolic Gulf, Nafplio is located in the west of Peloponnese, some 87 miles from Athens.

Several options are available to get to Nafplio from Athens:

  • – getting the bus: KTEL Argolidas leave Athens for Nafplio daily. Prices range from 12 to 18 € per person, for a 2 hour drive or so.
  • driving: from Athens, it’s an easy drive to Nafplio (a little under 2 hours) toll roads). If you’re looking to rent a car in Greece, Captain Ulysses highly recommends the company Rentalcars.
  • going on an excursion: several travel agencies offer excursions to Nafplio and Peloponnese. The length of these excursions varies from 1 to 4 days, depending on how much of Peloponnese you want to see. Captain Ulysses recommends 2 excursions in particular:
    • Full-Day Mycenae & Epidaurus Trip from Athens: this day-trip is the perfect way to discover two of the most emblematic ancient sites in Greece, Mycenae and Epidaurus, with a professional guide (available in English and French). The bus will also stop in Nafplio and give you time to explore the city. The trip includes: bus ride, services of the guide, entrance fees to the ancient sites, and lunch (optional). Cancellation is free up to 24 hours in advance. Find out more here.
    • 4-Day Tour of Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi & Meteora: this very exhaustive 4-day trip is ideal to discover all the must-sees in mainland Greece, accompanied by a professional guide. The trip of course includes a stop in Nafplio. It’s a great option if you don’t feel like planning out your trip yourself. The tour includes: bus rides, services of the guide, 3 hotel nights with dinners and breakfasts, entrance fees to the sites. Cancellation is also free up to 24 days in advance. Find out more here.
Nafplio Peloponnese

Moving about Nafplio

The city of Nafplio is relatively small and easy to explore on foot.

A Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour also stops in most of the city’s historical sites and points of interest. It’s an interesting option if you don’t want to spend the entire day walking about. Find out more here.

Visiting Nafplio: sights and activities

In Nafplio, no risk of getting bored: you’ll find plenty to do and see!

Palamidi Caslte

If you’re brave (just like Captain Ulysses, of course!), you’ll walk all the way to the castle from Arvanitia square, in the city historical centre. But you’ll have to climb 857 to 999 steps (believe it or not, the estimations vary)! If you’re (understandably) not feeling like climbing all these steps, no worries: you can drive to Palamidi Castle.

Perched 216 metres (709 ft) above Nafplio’s bay, the castle was built in the 17th and 18th centuries by the Venetians, under the supervision of a French architect called La Salle. The thick wall connects 8 bastions and countless lookout towers.

Entrance fees are 8 euros per person (free for children under 18 and U.E. students).

Acronauplia

Acronauplia is unofortunately not as well preserved as Palamidi Castle, and is mostly worth the visit for the incredible panorama on Nafplio and the Argolic Gulf. Overlooking the city’s historical centre, the fortress is a “patchwork” of constructions dating back to the Byzantine, Frankish and Venetian occupations of Nafplio.

From the city centre, you can easily walk or drive to Acronauplia.

Nafplio’s historical centre

Nafplio’s historical centre is a charming succession of maze-like alleys in which the Captain can only recommend that you take the time to get lost! The city remained under Venetian influence for quite a long time and somehow still looks like it could be Italian. With its countless shops, bars and restaurants, the centre is bustling with life.

During your exploration, don’t miss the Vouleftiko mosque. Several churches are also worth a visit, including the Church of Panagia, with its extravagant gildings, the Church of Agios Spyridon or Frankoklisia, the Franks’ church.

Archaeological Museum of Nafplio

Greece is synonymous with archeology and Nafplio is no exception to the rule. You’ll find onsite a small museum exhibiting ancient remains, including the oldest armor in Greece, which dates back to the 15th century BC. The museum’s collections also include various everyday objects, ceramics and ceremonial masks several centuries old!

Nafplio’s beaches

Even though it is possible to swim in Nafplio, the city does not count any really pleasant beach. Good news though: you only have to drive a few miles out of the city to finds beautiful places where to swim.

Nafplio’s surroundings count beautiful coves, as well as two beaches: Arvanitia beach and Karathona beach. Unfortunately, Captain Ulysses found both beaches disappointing. Other downside: during high season, they are packed with tourists and locals. That’s the reason why the Captain recommends that you put on your hiking shoes and explore the coast where pathways lead to preserved coves.

Komboloi Museum

“Komboloi, what is that?”, you may as. A komboloi is a traditional rosary, which holds a special place in Greek tradition. So much so that Nafplio even has a museum/shop entirely dedicated to kombolois. Traditional or modern designs: rosary amateurs should no doubt find the komboloi of their dreams!

Sports & activities

Between the Mediterranean sea and the beautiful surrounding landscapes, Nafplio has more than one trick up its sleeve to charm sports enthusiasts!

Biking

From the historical centre’s winding streets to the Argolic Gulf’s cliffs and charming wooded trails, Nafplio and its surroundings are the perfect spot for biking amateurs.

Unfortunately, options are fairly limited when it comes to renting bikes in Nafplio. Captain Ulysses recommends checking out the online platform BimBimBikes where you’ll find a few bikes for rent in the city.

But the easiest options is booking a tour with a local guide who will happily come up with a great itinerary based on your level and your wishes. If you’re interested, Captain Ulysses recommends GetYourGuide’s tour. Find out more here.

Horse-riding in Nafplio

What if you explored Nafplio off the beaten tracks, on horseback? It’s an ideal occasion to discover a more authentic side to the region, from beautiful moutain views to remote villages. The guides will take into consideration your level and can even give you an initiation class if you’re a beginner.

Find out more here.

Sea kayaking

Captain Ulysses is an accomplished sailor and never says no when offered to go to sea! If, like him, you are looking to combine nautical sports and exploration, one option: going on a kayaking tour in the Argolic Gulf. With your instructor, you’ll head to Bourtzi Castle before exploring beaches and coves which are inaccessible from the land.

Captain Ulysses highly recommends GetYourGuide’s 4-hour excursion departing from Nafplio’s harbour. The tour includes the equipement, the services of the guides and a picnic.

Find out more here.

Discovering local gastronomy

Greece is undoubtedly a land of fine cuisine and winery. Moussaka, Greek salad, stuffed peppers, souvlakis, fresh fish, vine leaves… the choice is endless and the Captain definitely had at it! Here, “eating” is an art: get ready to feast!

To discover Greek gastronomy and come home with pockets filled with new recipes and a suitcase packed with delicious products, why not let yourself be tempted by bons produits dans vos valises, pourquoi ne pas aussi vous laisser tenter par guided food tours and delicious culinary activities? You’ll find plenty in Nafplio:

Alternative activities in Nafplio

Captain Ulysses loves alternative, original and imaginative activities. If you share his interest in new discoveries, you might be tempted by (… drum rolls…) a beekeeping class, to find out firsthand everything there is to know of Greek honey!

You will be taken to beehives just outside of Nafplio where a specialist will teach you the ancient art of beekeeping. Then, you’ll put on a protective suit and will get closer to the bees.

Before leaving, a tasting is in order: you’ll sample several varieties of honey and even delicious honey cakes 🙂

Find out more here.

Nafplio’s surroundings

One of Nafplio’s main advantages is also its ideal localisation, close to some of the most emblematic ancient sites in Peloponnese: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Tiryns, Corinth…

Nafplio is an ideal base to explore the North-East of Peloponnese.

If you’ve rented a car (the Captain highly recommends this option, if, unlike him, you’re without sea legs), you’ll be able to discover freely all of these extraordinary sites.

Guided tours departing from Nafplio are also available. The Captain recommends this tour in particular. It includes the visits of Mycenae and Epidaurus, as well as pickup and drop-off at your hotel or other location of your choice and all land transport.

Hotels & apartments in Nafplio

Are you looking for accommodation in Nafplio? Captain Ulysses has a few recommendations in store that might interest you 🙂

Logo Captain's favourites
Accommodations
logo hotel

To book your hotel or appartment in Nafplio and in Greece in general, Captain Ulysses recommends the website Booking.com. Youth hostels, B&Bs, inexpensive or luxurious options : you’ll find it all !

Activities
logo activities

Guided tours, sport activities, food tours, alternative activities : Nafplio offers plenty of options. If you’re traveling during high season in particular, better to book your activities in advance. If you’re interested, Captain Ulysses recommends the websiteGetYourGuide , specialised in tourist activities worldwide.

Car rental
logo transport

If you want to explore freely Nafplio’s surroundings (Epidaurus, Mycenae…), Captain Ulysses advises that you rent a car. He particularly recommends the website Rentalcars, which is perfect to compare the offers of various rental agencies to find the best deal. One piece of advice: do not necessarily opt for the cheapest offer. It might all in all be more economic to chose a car model which though more expensive to rent is more fuel-efficient.

Tours

If you don’t want to plan your entire tour in Greece yourself, the Captain recommends one traveling agency in particular : Evaneos. d It offer a wide selection of tailor-made tours with local travel agents. Evaneos‘ teams will help your create a personalised itinerary that meets with your expectations. d

Flights
logo flight

Captain Ulysses highly recommends price comparator Skyscanner, 🙂 🇬🇷

Did you like this article? If yes, why don’t you pin it?

Nafplio, Peloponnese

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• Menu
  • Menu
Baie de Nauplie

Nauplie : cité historique au cœur du Péloponnèse

Accueil » Europe » Nauplie : cité historique au cœur du Péloponnèse

Nauplie en quelques mots

Nichée au fond du Golfe Argolique, Nauplie est un véritable petit bijou historique et coloré. Au fil des siècles, la ville est passée tour à tour aux mains des Byzantins, des Francs, des Vénitiens puis des Ottomans avant de devenir la première capitale grecque en 1829. Aujourd’hui encore, un parfum d’exotisme plane sur les ruelles labyrinthiques et le petit port de la ville.

Entre ses citadelles spectaculaires, sa ravissante vieille ville et son petit port pittoresque, Nauplie a tout pour plaire ! Sans surprise, c’est d’ailleurs l’une des villes les plus touristiques du Péloponnèse. Boutiques, restaurants et cafés animés jalonnent ses ruelles anciennes sans discontinuer. À quelques kilomètres de la ville, plages de sable fin et criques enchanteresses invitent aussi à un moment de détente et de farniente.

Bref, vous l’aurez compris, Nauplie est un coup de coeur du Capitaine Ulysse et une étape incontournable pour qui veut découvrir le Péloponnèse !

Se rendre à Nauplie

Au cœur du Golfe Argolique, les pieds dans l’eau, Nauplie est située sur la côte ouest du Péloponnèse, à 140 kilomètres d’Athènes environ.

Depuis la capitale, plusieurs options s’offrent à vous pour rejoindre Nauplie :

  • le bus : des bus KTEL Argolidas quittent Athènes pour Nauplie. Comptez 2h10 de trajet environ pour un prix allant de 12 à 18 euros par personne.
  • la voiture : Nauplie est facilement accessible en voiture depuis Athènes en 1h55 environ. Le trajet comprend des péages. Pour votre location de voiture, le Capitaine vous recommande chaudement Rentalcars.
  • les excursions organisées : plusieurs agences de voyages proposent des excursions organisées à la découverte de Nauplie et du Péloponnèse. La durée de ces excursions varie de 1 à 4 jours. Le Capitaine Ulysse vous en recommande deux en particulier :
    • Excursion d’un jour à Mycènes et Épidaure : cette excursion à la journée au départ d’Athènes invite les visiteurs à découvrir deux des sites antiques les plus emblématiques de Grèce, Mycènes et Épidaure, accompagnés d’un guide francophone. Le bus fait aussi bien sûr un arrêt à Nauplie. Cette excursion inclut le trajet en bus, les services du guide, l’entrée dans les frais d’entrée et, si vous le souhaitez, le déjeuner. Le plus : elle est annulable jusqu’à 24 heures à l’avance. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.
    • Excursion de 4 jours à Mycènes, Épidaure, Delphes, Olympie et les Météores : très complète, cette excursion permet de découvrir les grands sites incontournables de Grèce continentale, accompagnés d’un guide francophone. Elle fait aussi une pause à Nauplie. C’est une option très intéressante si vous ne voulez pas vous casser la tête à planifier vous-même votre périple. Elle inclut les trajets en bus, les services du guide, 3 nuits d’hôtel avec dîner et petit-déjeuner ainsi que les frais d’entrée dans les sites touristiques. Comme l’excursion précédente, elle est aussi annulable jusqu’à 24 heures à l’avance. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.
Nauplie Péloponnèse

Se déplacer à Nauplie

La ville de Nauplie est relativement peu étendue et vous pourrez facilement l’explorer à pied.

Un bus à arrêts multiples fait aussi le tour des principaux sites et lieux d’intérêts de la ville. C’est une option qui mérite d’être explorée si vous ne pouvez ou n’aimez pas faire quelques kilomètres à pied ! Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

Visiter Nauplie : que voir ? que faire ?

À Nauplie, les visites et activités ne manquent pas et vous trouverez largement de quoi prévoir un emploi du temps bien rempli !

Le Fort Palamède

Les plus courageux (comme le Capitaine Ulysse, bien sûr !) se lanceront à la découverte du fort depuis la place Arvanitia, dans la vieille ville. Il faudra alors gravir entre 857 et 999 marches (croyez-le ou non, les estimations divergent) ! Si vous ne vous sentez pas le courage de monter toutes ces marches, pas de panique : le Fort Palamède est aussi accessible en voiture.

Perchée 216 mètres au-dessus de la Baie de Nauplie, la forteresse fut construite aux XVIIème et XVIIIème siècles par les Vénitiens, sous la supervision d’un architecte français, La Salle. L’épaisse muraille relie 8 bastions et de nombreuses tours de guet.

Comptez 8 euros par personne pour l’entrée (gratuit pour les moins de 18 ans et les étudiants de l’Union Européenne).

L’Acronauplie

Malheureusement moins bien préservée que le Fort Palamède, l’Acronauplie vaut aujourd’hui surtout le détour pour le magnifique panorama qu’elle offre sur Nauplie et le Golfe d’Argolide. Surplombant la vieille ville, la forteresse est un « patchwork » de constructions datant des périodes byzantines, franques et vénitiennes.

L’Acronauplie est accessible depuis le centre de Nauplie en voiture ou à pied.

La vieille ville de Nauplie

La vieille ville de Nauplie est un magnifique dédale de ruelles ombragées et colorées où il fait bon se perdre le temps d’une charmante promenade. Longtemps restée sous emprise vénitienne, la ville garde un délicieux parfum d’Italie. C’est un lieu animé, où se côtoient boutiques de souvenirs, bars et restaurants.

En vous baladant, ne manquez pas la très belle mosquée Vouleftiko. Plusieurs églises valent aussi le détour : l’église orthodoxe Panagia et ses dorures extravagantes, l’église Agiou Spiridonos ou encore l’église des Francs qui était autrefois une mosquée.

Le Musée Archéologique

Qui dit Grèce dit archéologique. Nauplie compte un petit musée rassemblant des vestiges antiques, dont la plus ancienne cuirasse de Grèce, datant du XVème siècle av. J.-C. Vous y découvrirez également divers objets du quotidien, des céramiques et des masques cérémoniels vieux de plusieurs dizaines de siècles !

Les plages de Nauplie

S’il est possible de se baigner à Nauplie, la ville même ne comprend malheureusement pas de jolie plage, au grand dam du Capitaine ! La bonne nouvelle, c’est qu’il suffit de s’éloigner de quelques kilomètres pour trouver des lieux de baignades.

Les alentours de la ville comptent de jolies criques ainsi que deux plages : la plage d’Arvanitia et la plage Karathona. Malheureusement, le Capitaine les a trouvé quelques peu décevantes. Autre bémol : les deux plages se couvrent de monde pendant la saison touristique. Nous vous recommandons donc plutôt d’enfiler vos chaussures de marche et de longer la côte. De petits sentiers mènent à des criques encore sauvages.

Musée du Komboloï

Le « komboloï », quèsaco ? C’est un chapelet, et c’est toute une tradition en Grèce. À tel point que Nauplie compte même un magasin-musée qui lui est entière dédié. Modèles traditionnels ou plus modernes, les amateurs de chapelets trouveront sans aucun doute leur bonheur !

Un peu de sport

Entre la Mer Méditerranée et la magnifique nature environnante, Nauplie a plus d’un tour dans son sac pour charmer les amateurs de vacances sportives.

Tour en vélo

Des rues de la vieille ville aux falaises du Golfe Argolique en passant de charmants sentiers boisés, Nauplie et ses environs sont un terrain de jeu idéal pour les amoureux de vélo.

Pour louer des vélos, les options sont malheureusement plutôt limitées. Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande d’aller faire un tour sur le site de location BimBimBikes qui propose quelques locations de vélos à Nauplie.

Le plus simple reste de réserver une visite accompagnée d’un guide local qui saura s’adapter à votre niveau et à vos envies. Le Capitaine vous conseille celle proposée par GetYourGuide. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

Équitation à Nauplie

Et si vous partiez à la découverte de Nauplie hors des sentiers battus, à dos de cheval ? C’est l’occasion idéale de découvrir un visage moins touristique de la région, des montagnes environnantes aux villages traditionnels excentrés. Les guides s’adapteront à votre niveau et pourront même vous donner un petit cours d’initiation si vous êtes débutants.

Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

Kayak en mer

En marin averti, le Capitaine Ulysse ne refuse jamais un petit tour en mer ! Si comme lui, vous voulez allier sport nautique et découverte, une solution : un tour en kayak dans le Golfe Argolique. Accompagné d’un instructeur, vous mettrez le cap sur le Château de Bourtzi puis explorerez des plages et des baies inaccessibles depuis la terre.

Le Capitaine vous recommande l’excursion de 4 heures proposée par GetYourGuide, au départ du port de Nauplie. Elle inclut l’équipement, les services de l’instructeur et un pique-nique.

Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

Découverte de la gastronomie

La Grèce est sans nul doute une terre de gastronomie. Moussaka, salade grecque, poivrons farcis, souvlaki, poisson frais, feuilles de vigne… il y a de quoi faire et en bon vivant qu’il est, le Capitaine ne s’est pas privé ! Ici, « manger » est un maître mot : vous allez vous régaler !

Pour découvrir la gastronomie grecque et rentrer de votre voyage avec de nouvelles recettes et de bons produits dans vos valises, pourquoi ne pas aussi vous laisser tenter par des visites ou activités délicieuses et gourmandes ? A Nauplie, vous en trouverez à foison :

Activité insolite à Nauplie

Le Capitaine Ulysse est friand d’activités insolites et inoubliables. Si vous l’êtes aussi, peut-être vous laisserez-vous tenter par (…roulement de tambour….) un cours d’apiculture pour découvrir tous les secrets du miel grec !

Vous rejoindrez des ruches un peu à l’extérieur de Nauplie où un spécialiste vous initiera à l’apiculture. Puis vous enfilerez une combinaison de protection et irez vous-même à la rencontre des abeilles.

Avant de partir, une dégustation s’impose : vous gouterez plusieurs variétés de miel et même quelques gâteaux !

Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

Explorer les alentours de Nauplie

L’un des gros atouts de Nauplie, c’est aussi sa localisation idéale, à deux pas de certains des sites antiques les plus emblématiques du Péloponnèse : Épidaure, Mycènes, Tirynthe, Corinthe…

Nauplie est donc un pied-à-terre de choix pour explorer le nord-est du Péloponnèse.

Si vous avez loué une voiture (c’est l’option que le Capitaine recommande à ceux qui n’ont pas le pied marin comme lui !), vous pourrez partir librement à la découverte de ces sites extraordinaires.

Des excursions organisées au départ de Nauplie existent aussi. Le Capitain conseille en particulier cette excursion, incluant la visite des sites de Mycènes et Épidaure, la prise en charge au lieu de votre choix à Nauplie et le transport.

Où dormir à Nauplie ? Hôtels & hébergements

Vous êtes à la recherche d’un hébergement à Nauplie ? Le Capitaine Ulysse a quelques suggestions qui pourraient bien vous intéresser 🙂

Pour réserver vos vols pour la Grèce, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande le comparateur de prix Skyscanner. Il vous permettra de trouver les meilleurs tarifs aux dates qui vous intéressent. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pourrez même comparer les prix sur plusieurs jours ou semaines pour trouver LE bon plan.

Logo bons plans du capitaine
Hébergement
logo hotel

Pour réserver vos hébergements à Nauplie et plus généralement en Grèce, le Capitaine Ulysse vous conseille la plateforme Booking.com. Auberges de jeunesse, B&B, options bon marché, intermédiaires ou boutique hôtels luxueux : tout y est !

Activités
logo activités

Visites guidées, activités sportives, gastronomiques ou insolites : Nauplie ne manque pas d’options pour remplir vos journées. Si vous voyagez pendant la haute saison, mieux vaut réserver vos activités à l’avance pour être certains d’avoir de la place. Pour ce faire, le Capitaine vous recommande la plateforme GetYourGuide, spécialiste de la réservation d’activités touristiques et de loisir aux quatre coins du monde.

Location de voiture
logo transport

Pour explorer librement les alentours de Nauplie (Epidaure, Mycène…), le Capitaine Ulysse vous conseille de louer une voiture. Pour cela, il vous recommande chaudement le comparateur Rentalcars. Ce dernier permet de comparer les offres d’une légion d’agences de location pour trouver le tarif LE plus avantageux. Un conseil : ne foncez pas forcément sur le 1er prix tête baissée. Il est parfois plus rentable d’opter pour un modèle un peu plus cher à la location, mais qui consomme moins !

Circuits

Si vous ne souhaitez pas organiser votre circuit en Grèce vous-même, le Capitaine vous conseille deux agences en particulier : Evaneos et Terres d’Aventure. Chacune propose une très belle sélection de circuits à la découverte de la Grèce. Optez plutôt pour Evaneos si vous recherchez un circuit personnalisable, plutôt pour Terres d’Aventure si vous êtes amateurs de vacances sportives et de randonnée.

Vol
logo vol

Pour réserver vos vols pour la Grèce, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande le comparateur de prix Skyscanner. Il vous permettra de trouver les meilleurs tarifs aux dates qui vous intéressent. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pourrez même comparer les prix sur plusieurs jours ou semaines pour trouver LE bon plan.

Cet article vous a plu ? Épinglez-le !

Nauplie, Péloponnèse

Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : / 5. Nombre de votes :

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *