• Menu
  • Menu
Place Vendôme

The Place Vendôme in Paris

Accueil » Europe » Western Europe » France » Paris » The Place Vendôme in Paris
0
(0)

Welcome to the kingdom of luxury and refinement à la française!

Classical architecture, prestigious brands and opulent hotels… Located in the heart of the 1st arrondissement, the Place Vendôme is one of the most chic and famous public squares in Paris!

Follow the guide!

💡 The Captain’s tip 💡
Want to find out more about the history of Paris? Captain Ulysses highly recommends this free guided tour of the capital. It’s up to you to choose how much you wish to tip the tour guide!

Brief history of the Place Vendôme

The origins of the Place Vendôme

Let’s go back in time to the end of the 17th century, shall we?

In the 1680s, the Marquis de Louvois, one of Louis XIV’s chief ministers, took up the idea of the architect Jules Hardouin-Mansart (known for his work on the Château de Versailles) to create a vast rectangular square on the present site of the Place Vendôme. This square, named Place Louis Le Grand, was intended to house a series of public buildings: the royal library, the Hôtel de la Monnaie (Paris Mint), etc.

Jules Hardouin-Mansart built the facades – without constructing the back of the buildings! – and the sculptor François Girardon erected a bronze statue of Louis XIV in the heart of the square.

But the construction program was abandoned at the end of the 17th century and replaced by a new project, also headed by Jules Hardouin-Mansart. The square was no longer intended to house public buildings, but rather private mansions designed to accommodate the Parisian elite. The architect destroyed the facades which he had previously built and redesigned the square completely. The new square – which was to be slightly larger than the previous version – was to be built in the classical style.

Once again, Jules Hardouin-Mansart only built the facades of the future buildings (for the sake of harmony)… It was up to the buyers of the land to build the rest!

👑 The 5 royal squares of Paris 👑
The Place Vendôme is in the very select club of the 5 royal squares in Paris! In the center of each of these once stood a statue of the French sovereign. These squares were therefore intended to glorify the monarch. The royal squares also have the particularity of following a geometrical and orderly plan.
The 5 royal squares of Paris are: the Place des Vosges (a must-see in Paris), the Place de la Concorde, the Place des Victoires, the Place Dauphine… and of course the Place Vendôme!

The Place Vendôme under the Revolution

During the Revolution, the Place Louis Le Grand was renamed Place des Piques (in reference to the heads of royalists planted on pikes and exhibited by the revolutionaries) and the equestrian statue of Louis XIV was destroyed.

Place Vendôme

Napoleon, the Vendôme Column… and the Paris Commune

In 1810, Napoleon erected the huge Vendome Column in the center of the square to commemorate the battle of Austerlitz.

Made from the bronze of 1200 cannons seized from the enemy, the column is largely inspired by the Trajanic Column in Rome.

But the Vendome Column was not to everyone’s taste… In 1871, the Communards (members and supporters of the short-lived 1871 Paris Commune) – including the anarchist painter Gustave Courbet – tore down the column, considered a symbol of imperial despotism, and renamed the square “Place Internationale”. When the Paris Commune was routed by the government, the Vendome Column was rebuilt and Gustave Courbet was ordered to restore it at his own expense (for a total of 323,091.68 francs).

💡 What was the Paris Commune? 💡
The Paris Commune was a popular insurrection that swept through the French capital in 1871 and lasted 72 days. Crushed by the government in May 1871, the Paris Commune ended in bloodshed during a week of deadly confrontations known as “Bloody Week”.

Jewelers & prestigious brands

The Place Vendôme is heaven on earth for jewelers and prestigious brands!

From the early 19th century, the Place Vendôme and the adjacent streets (rue de la Paix, rue Saint-Honoré…) gradually became the epicenter of French luxury and refinement. Major jewelry and haute-couture brands have taken up residence in and around the former royal square: Boucheron, Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, etc.

Place Vendôme - Paris

Visiting the Place Vendôme in Paris

A square nestled in the heart of the 1st arrondissement

To discover the famous Place Vendôme, head for the heart of the 1st arrondissement of Paris. The Place Vendôme is located a few steps from some of the most emblematic monuments of the French capital: the Tuileries Garden, the Opéra Garnier, La Madeleine, the Louvre Museum or the Musée de l’Orangerie.

Plenty to do in the neighborhood!

What to see & do on the Place Vendôme?

The Vendome Column

Nestled in the center of the square, the Vendôme Column is a reconstruction dating from 1875, the original column – erected in 1810 on the initiative of Napoleon I having been destroyed in 1871 during the Paris Commune.

The bas-reliefs adorning the Vendôme column recall the Battle of Austerlitz, won in 1805 by Napoleon’s troops against the coalition formed by the United Kingdom, the Russian Empire, the Empire of Hungary and Sweden.

The column is entirely made of bronze and surmounted by a statue of Napoleon represented as Caesar.

Vendome column

The private mansions of the Place Vendôme

The Place Vendôme is surrounded by 28 private mansions, many of which are classified as historical monuments and are now occupied by luxury brands.

Do not miss the Ministry of Justice at number 13 of the square nor the famous Ritz at number 15. Founded in 1898 and completely renovated between 2012 and 2016, it ranks very high on the list of the most prestigious hotels in the French capital.

Among the famous jewelers located in the square, you’ll find Gucci, Chanel, Van Cleed & Arpels or Rolex.

Ritz - Place Vendôme

Want more?

Place Vendôme is not enough to satisfy your insatiable thirst for luxury and elegance? The mythical streets of the surroundings should do the trick: rue de la Paix, la rue Saint-Honoré, rue de Rivoli.

💳 Don’t want to break the bank? 💳
You have an irrepressible urge to shop, but your bank account won’t allow you to splurge in the posh stores around Place Vendôme? No worries! Head for the Rue de Rivoli. If the shops near the Place de la Concorde and the Palais Royal are very high end, you’ll find much more affordable stores if you continue towards Châtelet and Hôtel de Ville (Zara, Monki, Bershka, Oysho…).

Access

The Place Vendôme is located halfway between the Opera Garnier, the Tuileries Garden and La Madeleine.

The nearest metro stations are Opéra (lines 3, 7 and 8) and Tuileries (line 1). The nearest city bus stops are: Pyramides – Saint-Honoré (line 68) and Pyramides (lines 21, 27, 68 and 95).

The hop-on hop-off sightseeing buses also stop near the Place Vendôme.


👉 Skip the lines in Paris: book your tickets and tours in advance!


Looking for tips and recommendations? Here are all of Captain Ulysses’ suggestions!

🛏️ Accommodation: Looking for an accommodation in Paris? Good news: there are plenty of options in the French capital. To book your hotel in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends the website Booking.com. From cheap hostels to luxury palaces, you’ll have plenty of options to chose from. As for the localisation, it depends both on your budget and on what you’re looking for. If you can’t afford staying in the most expensive areas of the capital, the Captain recommends that you look for a hotel in the 12th or 13th arrondissements: they’re not as central, but are very well connected to the centre of Paris. The Buttes au Cailles, which looks just like a small village, is one of the Captain’s favourite neighbourhoods in Paris. If you’d rather stay in a chic and sophisticated hotel, here are the best 3 options according to the Captain: the St. James , the Dokhan’s and the Metropolitan .

🎟️ Activities : in order to book skip-the-line tickets, tours and activities in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends GetYourGuide and Civitatis. Guided tours, entrance tickets, cruises, unusual activities: there’s plenty to chose from. If you want to avoid queuing to get into museums and monuments, the Captain suggests opting for skip-the-line tickets.

⛵ City cruises: Can you really visit Paris without going on a cruise on the Seine? The Captain loves sailing on the river and admiring the emblematic monuments of the French capital, especially at nightfall. You will find a large selection of cruises in Paris here.

🎫 City cards : If you’re planning on staying in Paris for a few days, you should definitely consider investing in a city card giving access to the capital’s top museums and landmarks. which includes access to the most famous monuments in Paris.

🚐 Transfers: the parisian airports are located outside the city and getting to the city centre can be quite expensive.
If your budget is tight, the Captain recommends the RATP shuttles that will drop you off at Opera if you’re coming from Roissy airport and at Denfert-Rochereau if you’re coming from Orly airport.
But for a few extra euros, you can book a transfer that will take you directly to your hotel.
If you are traveling in a group, this option is all the more interesting. Find out more here.

🚌 Transports: While you’ll be able to explore part of the city on foot, you will have to use the parisian public transports to explore some of the capital’s landmarks. In order to avoid accumulating (and losing) metro tickets, the Captain recommends opting for an unlimited transport pass. You can buy it directly at in any metro station.
Open tour buses (audioguides included) are also a good option.
If you’d rather explore Paris on a boat, you will love the batobus, a river shuttle on the Seine !

✈️ Flights, trains & buses : Good news: getting to Paris is quite easy! If you’re planning on flying to the capital, the Captain recommends Skyscanner, an online comparator which is perfect for finding the best deals. If your dates are flexible, you can even compare prices over several weeks. Paris is also easily accessible by train and bus. To book your tickets, the Captain highly recommends Omio, which integrates the offer of 207 train and bus companies in 44 countries.


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• Menu
  • Menu
Place Vendôme

La Place Vendôme à Paris

Accueil » Europe » Europe de l'Ouest » France » Paris » La Place Vendôme à Paris
0
(0)

Bienvenue au royaume du luxe et du raffinement à la française !

Située au cœur du 1er arrondissement de Paris, la Place Vendôme est l’une des places les plus chics et les plus célèbres de la capitale. Au programme : architecture classique, enseignes prestigieuses et hôtels opulents.

En route moussaillons !

💡 Le bon plan 💡
Vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’histoire de Paris ? Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement cette visite guidée gratuite de la capitale. À vous de choisir le pourboire que vous voulez laisser au guide !

Petite histoire de la Place Vendôme

Les origines de la Place Vendôme

Remontons le temps jusqu’à la fin du 17ème siècle.

Dans les années 1680, le Marquis de Louvois, l’un des principaux ministres de Louis XIV, reprend l’idée de l’architecte Jules Hardouin-Mansart (connu pour son travail au Château de Versailles) de créer une vaste place rectangulaire à l’actuel emplacement de la Place Vendôme. Cette place, baptisée Place Louis Le Grand, est alors destinée à accueillir une série d’édifices publics :  bibliothèque royale, hôtel de la Monnaie, etc.

Jules Hardouin-Mansart construit les façades – sans construire l’arrière des bâtiments – et le sculpteur François Girardon érige une statue en bronze de Louis XIV au cœur de la place.

Mais le programme est abandonné à la fin du 17ème siècle et remplacé par un nouveau projet, lui aussi chapeauté par Jules Hardouin-Mansart. La place n’a plus vocation à accueillir des bâtiments publics, mais des hôtels particuliers destinés à héberger le gratin parisien. L’architecte détruit les façades érigées précédemment et redessine une toute nouvelle place de style classique, un peu plus vaste que la précédente version.

Là encore, Jules Hardouin-Mansart ne construit que les façades des futurs édifices (par souci d’harmonie)… Aux acquéreurs des terrains de faire construire le reste !

👑 Les 5 places royales de Paris 👑
La Place Vendôme figure dans le club très select des 5 places royales de Paris ! Au centre de chacune de ces dernières trônait jadis la statue du souverain français. Ces places avaient donc pour objectif de glorifier le monarque. Les places royales ont aussi toutes la particularité de suivre un plan géométrique et ordonnancé.
Les 5 places royales de Paris sont : la Place des Vosges (un grand incontournable à Paris), la Place de la Concorde, la Place des Victoires, la Place Dauphine… et bien sûr la Place Vendôme !

La Place Vendôme sous la Révolution

Sous la Révolution, la Place Louis Le Grand est rebaptisée Place des Piques (en référence aux têtes des royalistes plantées sur des piques et exhibées par les révolutionnaires) et la statue équestre de Louis XIV est détruite.

Place Vendôme

Napoléon, la Colonne Vendôme… et la Commune de Paris

En 1810, Napoléon fait ériger au centre de la place l’immense Colonne Vendôme pour commémorer la bataille d’Austerlitz.

Réalisée avec le bronze de 1200 canons saisis aux mains de l’ennemi, la colonne est largement inspirée de la Colonne Trajane de Rome.

Mais la Colonne Vendôme n’est pas du goût de tous. En 1871, les Communards – dont le peintre anarchiste Gustave Courbet – abattent la colonne, considérée comme le symbole du despotisme impérial, et rebaptise la place « Place Internationale ». Lorsque la Commune de Paris est mise en déroute par le pouvoir, la Colonne Vendôme est reconstruite et Gustave Courbet est d’ailleurs condamné à la restaurer à ses frais (pour un total de 323 091,68 francs).

💡 Qu’est-ce que la Commune de Paris ? 💡
La Commune de Paris est une insurrection populaire qui déferle en 1871 sur la capitale française et dure 72 jours. Écrasée par le pouvoir en mai 1871, la Commune de Paris s’achève dans le sang durant une semaine d’affrontements meurtriers désignés sous le nom de « Semaine sanglante ».

Joaillers & marques prestigieuses

Au royaume des joaillers et des enseignes prestigieuses, la Place Vendôme est reine !

Dès le début du 19ème siècle, la Place Vendôme et les rues adjacentes (rue de la Paix, rue Saint-Honoré…) deviennent peu à peu l’épicentre du luxe et du raffinement à la française. De grandes enseignes de joaillerie et de haute-couture prennent leurs quartiers sur l’ancienne place royale et dans ses environs : Boucheron, Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, etc.

Place Vendôme - Paris

Visiter la Place Vendôme à Paris

Cap au cœur du 1er arrondissement

Pour découvrir la célèbre Place Vendôme, cap au cœur du 1er arrondissement de Paris. La Place Vendôme est située à quelques pas de certains des monuments les plus emblématiques de la capitale française : le Jardin des Tuileries, l’Opéra Garnier, l’Église de la Madeleine, le Musée du Louvre ou encore le Musée de l’Orangerie.

Autant dire qu’il y a de quoi faire dans le quartier : vous ne risquez décidément pas de vous ennuyer !

Que voir et que faire Place Vendôme à Paris ?

La Colonne Vendôme

Nichée au centre de la place, la Colonne Vendôme est une reconstruction datant de 1875, la colonne d’origine, érigée en 1810 à l’initiative de Napoléon Ier, ayant été détruite en 1871 pendant la Commune de Paris.

Les bas-reliefs ornant la colonne Vendôme retracent la Bataille d’Austerlitz, remportée en 1805 par les troupes napoléoniennes face à la coalition formée par le Royaume-Uni, l’Empire russe, l’Empire de Hongrie et la Suède.

La colonne est entièrement faite de bronze et surmontée par une statue de Napoléon représenté en César.

Colonne Vendôme

Les hôtels particuliers de la Place Vendôme

La Place Vendôme est encadrée de 28 hôtels particuliers dont bon nombre sont classés monuments historiques et aujourd’hui occupés par des enseignes de luxe.

Ne manquez pas le Ministère de la Justice au n°13 de la place ni le très célèbre Ritz au n°15. Fondé en 1898 et entièrement rénové entre 2012 et 2016, ce dernier figure en très bonne place sur la liste des hôtels les plus prestigieux de la capitale française.

Parmi les joaillers célèbres installés sur la place, vous trouverez entre autres Gucci, Chanel, Van Cleed & Arpels ou encore Rolex.

Ritz - Place Vendôme

Pour continuer la balade 

La Place Vendôme ne suffit pas à satisfaire votre insatiable soif de luxe et d’élégance ? Qu’à cela ne tienne ! Il vous suffit de poursuivre la balade dans les mythiques rues des environs : la rue de la Paix (oui, oui, comme au Monopoly), la rue Saint-Honoré ou encore la rue de Rivoli.

💳 Faire chauffer la carte bleue… oui, mais pas trop ! 💳
Vous avez une envie irrépressible de shopping, mais votre compte en banque ne vous permet pas de faire de folies dans les magasins huppés des alentours de la Place Vendôme ? Pas de panique ! Mettez le cap sur la rue de Rivoli. Si les enseignes côté Place de la Concorde et Palais Royal sont très haut de gamme, vous trouverez des magasins beaucoup plus abordables en continuant en direction de Châtelet et de l’Hôtel de Ville (Zara, Monki, Bershka, Oysho…).

Informations pratiques

La Place Vendôme est située à mi-chemin entre l’Opéra Garnier, le Jardin des Tuileries et l’Église de la Madeleine.

Les stations de métro les plus proches sont Opéra (lignes 3, 7 et 8) et Tuileries (ligne 1). Les arrêts de bus de ville les plus proches sont : Pyramides – Saint-Honoré (ligne 68) et Pyramides (lignes 21, 27, 68 et 95).

Les bus touristiques à arrêts multiples font également halte à proximité de la Place Vendôme.


👉  Évitez les files d’attentes à Paris : réservez vos billets et visites à l’avance ! 


À la recherche de conseils et de recommandations ? Voici tous les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à Paris !

🛏️   Hébergement : Paris est une ville très touristique et les hébergements ne manquent pas. Pour réserver, le Capitaine vous recommande Booking. Des auberges de jeunesse bon marché aux palaces luxueux, tout y est. Côté localisation, tout dépend de votre budget et de vos envies. Si vous voulez éviter les quartiers les plus chers, le Capitaine vous conseille de regarder du côté des 12ème et 13ème arrondissements, moins centraux, mais très bien reliés au centre de Paris. La Butte aux Cailles, avec ses airs de village en plein Paris, est d’ailleurs l’un des quartiers préférés du Capitaine. Si vous voulez en revanche poser vos valises dans un très bel hôtel parisien, le Capitaine vous donne son top 3 à Paris : le Saint-James, le Dokhan’s et le Le Metropolitan.

🎟️   Activités : pour vos visites et activités à Paris, le Capitaine vous conseille de jeter un coup d’œil au site GetYourGuide et Civitatis. Visites guidées, billets d’entrée, croisières, activités insolites : vous avez l’embarras du choix. Pour éviter les longues files d’attente devant les musées et monuments de la capitale, le Capitaine vous recommande par ailleurs d’opter pour des billets coupe-files réservables à l’avance.

⛵  Croisières : Que serait Paris sans la Seine ? Le Capitaine adore voguer sur le fleuve à la découverte des monuments emblématiques de la capitale, surtout à la tombée de la nuit. Pour retrouver une large sélection de croisières à Paris, c’est ici.

🎫   Citypass : Si vous passez plusieurs jours dans la capitale, il peut être intéressant d’investir dans un city pass donnant accès aux sites et monuments les plus emblématiques de Paris. Le gros plus de ces pass : les réductions et les accès coupe-files.

🚐   Transferts : les aéroports parisiens sont situés en dehors de la capitale et rejoindre le centre de Paris peut être quelque peu coûteux, y compris en transport en commun.
Si votre budget est serré, nous vous recommandons les navettes RATP qui vous déposent à Opéra depuis l’aéroport de Roissy et à Denfert-Rochereau depuis l’aéroport de Roissy.
Mais pour quelques euros de plus, vous pouvez réserver un transfert qui vous déposera directement à votre hôtel.
Si vous voyagez en groupe, cette option est d’autant plus intéressante et rentable. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

🚌   Transports sur place : si Paris est une ville relativement dense qui se visite assez facilement à pied, vous aurez sûrement besoin d’utiliser les transports en commun pour explorer des coins de la capitale un petit peu plus excentrés. Pour éviter d’accumuler (et de perdre) les tickets de métro, il est possible d’opter pour un pass transport illimité, très pratique. Vous pouvez l’acheter directement à une borne dans une station de métro ou dans un guichet de la RATP.
Pour allier l’utile à l’agréable, vous pouvez aussi choisir de vous déplacer en bus à arrêts multiples (audioguide inclus).
Si vous préférez le bateau, il existe aussi le batobus, une navette fluviale sur la Seine !

✈️  Vols, trains & bus : Paris est une ville facilement accessible en avion, en voiture, en train et en bus. Pour vos vols, le Capitaine vous recommande chaudement le comparateur Skyscanner, idéal pour dégoter les meilleurs prix. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pouvez même comparer les tarifs sur plusieurs semaines pour trouver LE bon plan. Paris est aussi une ville facilement accessible en train et en bus. Pour réserver vos trajets, nous vous conseillons chaudement le site Trainline qui permet de voyager à travers 44 pays avec 207 compagnies ferroviaires et de bus.


Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : 0 / 5. Nombre de votes : 0

Pas de notes pour le moment. Soyez le premier à donner vote avis !

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *