• Menu
  • Menu
Sainte-Chapelle - Paris

The Sainte-Chapelle in Paris

Accueil » Europe » Western Europe » France » Paris » The Sainte-Chapelle in Paris
0
(0)

Nestled on the Île de la Cité, in the heart of the 1st arrondissement of Paris, the Sainte-Chapelle – famous for its incomparable stained glass windows – is one of the most emblematic monuments in the French capital.

Follow the guide !

💡 The Captain’s tip 💡

Want to know more about the history of Paris? Captain Ulysses highly recommends this free guided tour of the capital. It’s up to you to choose how much you wish to tip the tour guide!

Are you looking for a hotel in Paris? Feel free to have a look at the Captain’s recommendations: Where to sleep in Paris? Tips & recommendations

A short history of the Sainte-Chapelle

Who was Saint-Louis?

King of France from 1226 to 1270, Saint Louis (Louis IX during his lifetime) is, along with Louis XIV, one of the most emblematic monarchs in French history. Known for his unwavering faith and commitment to justice, he was canonized in 1297, thus becoming one of the most popular saints of the Catholic Church in France.

A great builder, Saint Louis ordered the construction of many religious buildings, including the Sainte-Chapelle in Paris. He is also known to have participated in the seventh and eighth crusades.

The construction of the Sainte-Chapelle

In 1238, Saint Louis bought the Holy Crown from the Emperor of Constantinople Baldwin II of Courtenay, who was forced to part with the precious relics acquired by his predecessor Baldwin VI of Hainaut in order to finance the defense of his Empire.

In the years that followed, Saint Louis acquired several other very valuable relics of the Passion of Christ.

To house his acquisitions, Saint-Louis decided to have a royal chapel built in the Palais de la Cité, where he lived. This building was designed as a double chapel, with an upper and a lower chapel. It was not intended to welcome a large public, but was thought of as a place of worship reserved for the monarch and the staff of the castle. This is the reason why there is no external access to the upper chapel.

The chapel also housed a college of canons.

Built in flamboyant Gothic style, the Sainte-Chapelle was erected in less than seven years – a positive tour de force for the time – and consecrated in 1248.

Sainte-Chapelle - stained glass windows

The relics of the Sainte-Chapelle

The relics of the Holy Chapel included several artefacts related to the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, including the Holy Crown, a piece of the Holy Cross, the Holy Blood, the Sepulchre Stone, as well as pieces of the Holy Lance and the Holy Sponge.

These relics are no longer on display in the Sainte-Chapelle today. Transferred to Saint-Denis during the French Revolution, many disappeared under mysterious circumstances without leaving any trace.

The Sainte-Chapelle since its construction

Over the centuries, the Sainte-Chapelle was restored several times, before being completely emptied, disused and partly destroyed during the French Revolution.

In the 19th century, the debate raged: should this medieval vestige be preserved or destroyed? Fortunately, the supporters of the restoration of the Sainte-Chapelle came out on top in the negotiations. The work lasted 27 years and the Sainte-Chapelle became a true model of restoration.

Today, the Sainte-Chapelle is a very popular historical and tourist monument in Paris. It attracts thousands of visitors every year, who come to admire its architecture and discover its fascinating history.

Since 2008, new restoration campaigns are conducted by the architects of the Monuments Historiques.

Visiting the Sainte-Chapelle

The Sainte-Chapelle is a remarkable example of French Gothic architecture. It is considered one of the most emblematic medieval buildings in the world.

Organized on two floors (with two superimposed chapels: a lower chapel and an upper chapel), the Sainte-Chapelle follows a very simple plan, without aisles, transept or ambulatory.

If the Sainte-Chapelle has a very modest surface, comparable to that of a village church, its height is on the contrary worthy of a gothic cathedral. The first floor served as a sacristy (an annex of a church where religious items are kept), while the upper chapel housed the holy relics in a large shrine.

The richly decorated western façade is worth a look.

Sainte-Chapelle - polychromy

The lower chapel

Avec ses airs de crypte, la chapelle basse est plus sombre et de dimension plus modeste que la chapelle haute. Elle n’en demeure pas moins richement décorée avec ses murs colorés (les spécialistes parlent de polychromie architecturale), ses ogives, ses colonnes et ses vitraux. 

The lower chapel now houses the Sainte-Chapelle souvenir store.

The upper chapel

The upper chapel is undoubtedly the highlight of the show. Almost twice as high as it is wide, the upper chapel is decorated with flamboyant colors (another example of architectural polychromy) and wonderful stained glass windows dating from the 13th century.

The tribune of the relics, which once housed the Holy Relics, is located in the middle of the apse.

The walls are almost entirely pierced with windows: a positive architectural tour de force, especially considering that the Sainte-Chapelle was built more than 7 centuries ago.

The stained glass windows represent a total surface of nearly 615 square meters/6,600 square feet! It represents a plethora of biblical scenes – including scenes from the Old Testament, the Apocalypse and the Creation – as well as historical scenes – including the story of Saint Louis receiving the relics.

Access

Opening hours

The Sainte-Chapelle is open from 9am to 5pm from October 1 to March 31 and from 9am to 7pm from April 1 to September 30 (the ticket office closes 40 minutes before the site closes).

Getting to the Sainte-Chapelle

The Sainte-Chapelle is located on the Île de la Cité, within the old Palais de la Cité (where the Conciergerie is also located).

It is easily accessible by public transport:

  • Metro: Take line 4 and get off at the Cité station. The chapel is just a few steps away.
  • Bus: Take lines 67, 69, 76 and 96 and get off at Cité – Palais de Justice.
  • Hop-on hop-off bus tours. Find out more here.
  • Vélib’: you will find several self-service bicycle stations on the Île de la Cité.

Admission

Tickets are 11.50 euros (full price). Access is free for visitors under 18 years of age, European Union citizens between 18 and 25 years of age and disabled visitors.

If you’re also planning on visiting the Conciergerie (which Captain Ulysses highly recommends), then the combined ticket Conciergerie + Sainte-Chapelle at the price of 18,50 € is much cheaper than buying the tickets separately (23 €).

Be warned, the Conciergerie and the Sainte-Chapelle are victims of their own success. To avoid wasting precious time in line, Captain Ulysses strongly recommends that you book your tickets online in advance:

👉 Entrance ticket for the Sainte-Chapelle
👉 Combined ticket Sainte-Chapelle + Conciergerie

💡 The Captain’s tip: access to the Sainte-Chapelle and the Conciergerie are also included in the Museum Pass, which provides direct access to more than 60 museums and monuments in Paris, including the Louvre Museum, the Musée Orsay and the Centre Pompidou.
More information: Paris Museum Pass


👉 Skip the lines in Paris: book your tickets and tours in advance!


👉 Looking for advice and recommendations? Here are all of Captain Ulysses’ suggestions!

🛏️ Accommodation: Looking for an accommodation in Paris? Good news: there are plenty of options in the French capital. To book your hotel in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends the website Booking.com. From cheap hostels to luxury palaces, you’ll have plenty of options to chose from. As for the localisation, it depends both on your budget and on what you’re looking for. If you can’t afford staying in the most expensive areas of the capital, the Captain recommends that you look for a hotel in the 12th or 13th arrondissements: they’re not as central, but are very well connected to the centre of Paris. The Buttes au Cailles, which looks just like a small village, is one of the Captain’s favourite neighbourhoods in Paris. If you’d rather stay in a chic and sophisticated hotel, here are the best 3 options according to the Captain: the St. James , the Dokhan’s and the Metropolitan .

🎟️ Activities : in order to book skip-the-line tickets, tours and activities in Paris, Captain Ulysses highly recommends GetYourGuide and Civitatis. Guided tours, entrance tickets, cruises, unusual activities: there’s plenty to chose from. If you want to avoid queuing to get into museums and monuments, the Captain suggests opting for skip-the-line tickets.

⛵ City cruises: Can you really visit Paris without going on a cruise on the Seine? The Captain loves sailing on the river and admiring the emblematic monuments of the French capital, especially at nightfall. You will find a large selection of cruises in Paris here.

🎫 City cards : If you’re planning on staying in Paris for a few days, you should definitely consider investing in a city card giving access to the capital’s top museums and landmarks. which includes access to the most famous monuments in Paris.

🚐 Transfers: the parisian airports are located outside the city and getting to the city centre can be quite expensive.
If your budget is tight, the Captain recommends the RATP shuttles that will drop you off at Opera if you’re coming from Roissy airport and at Denfert-Rochereau if you’re coming from Orly airport.
But for a few extra euros, you can book a transfer that will take you directly to your hotel.
If you are traveling in a group, this option is all the more interesting. Find out more here.

🚌 Transports: While you’ll be able to explore part of the city on foot, you will have to use the parisian public transports to explore some of the capital’s landmarks. In order to avoid accumulating (and losing) metro tickets, the Captain recommends opting for an unlimited transport pass. You can buy it directly at in any metro station.
Open tour buses (audioguides included) are also a good option.
If you’d rather explore Paris on a boat, you will love the batobus, a river shuttle on the Seine !

✈️ Flights, trains & buses : Good news: getting to Paris is quite easy! If you’re planning on flying to the capital, the Captain recommends Skyscanner, an online comparator which is perfect for finding the best deals. If your dates are flexible, you can even compare prices over several weeks. Paris is also easily accessible by train and bus. To book your tickets, the Captain highly recommends Omio, which integrates the offer of 207 train and bus companies in 44 countries.

Photo credits
Stephanie LeBlanc | Dag Heinrichowski | Simone Mascellari

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• Menu
  • Menu
Sainte-Chapelle - Paris

La Sainte-Chapelle à Paris

Accueil » Europe » Europe de l'Ouest » France » Paris » La Sainte-Chapelle à Paris
0
(0)

Nichée sur l’Île de la Cité, au cœur du 1er arrondissement de Paris, la Sainte-Chapelle est l’un des monuments les plus emblématiques de la capitale française. 

En route, moussaillons : le Capitaine Ulysse vous emmène à la découverte de cette somptueuse chapelle médiévale, célèbre pour ses incomparables vitraux !

💡 Bons plans 💡

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’histoire de Paris ? Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement cette visite guidée gratuite de la capitale. À vous de choisir le pourboire que vous voulez laisser au guide !

Vous êtes à la recherche d’un hôtel à Paris ? N’hésitez pas à jeter un coup d’oeil aux recommandations du Capitaine : Où dormir à Paris ? Conseils & recommandations

Petite histoire de la Sainte-Chapelle

Qui était Saint-Louis ?

Roi de France de 1226 à 1270, Saint Louis (Louis IX de son vivant) est avec Louis XIV l’un des monarques les plus emblématiques de l’histoire de France. Connu pour sa foi sans faille et son engagement envers la justice et les pauvres, il est canonisé en 1297, devant ainsi l’un des saints les plus populaires de l’Église catholique en France.

Grand bâtisseur,  Saint Louis a commandé la construction de nombreux bâtiments religieux, dont la Sainte-Chapelle de Paris. Il est également connu pour avoir participé aux septième et huitième croisades.

La construction de la Sainte-Chapelle 

En 1238, Saint Louis achète la Sainte Couronne à l’Empereur de Constantinople Baudouin II de Courtenay, qui voit se contraint de se séparer des précieuses reliques acquises par son prédécesseur Baudouin VI de Hainaut afin de pouvoir financer la défense de son Empire. 

Dans les années qui suivent, Saint Louis se porte acquéreur de plusieurs autres reliques de la Passion du Christ de très grande valeur. 

Pour abriter ses acquisitions, Saint-Louis décide de faire construire une chapelle royale dans le Palais de la Cité, où il réside. Cette dernière est conçue comme une chapelle double, avec une chapelle haute et une chapelle basse. Elle n’a pas vocation à accueillir un large public, mais est pensée comme un lieu de culte réservé au monarque et au personnel du château. C’est la raison pour laquelle il n’y a pas d’accès extérieur à la chapelle haute.

La chapelle tient également lieu de siège d’un collège de chanoines. 

De style gothique flamboyant, la Sainte-Chapelle est construite en moins de sept ans — un véritable tour de force pour l’époque, et consacrée en 1248. 

Sainte-Chapelle - vitraux

Les reliques de la Sainte-Chapelle 

Les reliques de la Sainte-Chapelle incluent plusieurs objets liés à la vie, la mort et la résurrection de Jésus-Christ, notamment la Sainte Couronne, un morceau de la Sainte Croix, le Saint Sang, la Pierre du Sépulcre, ainsi que des morceaux de la Sainte Lance et de la Sainte Éponge. 

Ces reliques ne sont plus exposées à la Sainte-Chapelle aujourd’hui. Transférées à Saint-Denis lors de la Révolution française, beaucoup ont disparu dans des circonstances mystérieuses sans laisser de traces. 

La Sainte-Chapelle depuis sa construction

Au fil des siècles, la Sainte-Chapelle est restaurée à plusieurs reprises, avant d’être entièrement vidée, désaffectée et en partie détruite à la Révolution française. 

Au 19ème siècle, le débat fait rage : faut-il préserver ou détruire ce vestige médiéval laissé à l’abandon. Heureusement, les partisans de la restauration de la Sainte-Chapelle sortent vainqueurs des tractations. Les travaux durent 27 ans et la Sainte-Chapelle devient un véritable modèle de restauration.

 Aujourd’hui, la Sainte-Chapelle est un monument historique et touristique très populaire à Paris. Elle attire des milliers de visiteurs chaque année, qui viennent admirer son architecture et son histoire fascinante. 

Depuis 2008, de nouvelles campagnes de restauration sont conduites par les architectes des Monuments historiques. 

Visiter la Sainte-Chapelle

La Sainte-Chapelle est un remarquable exemple de l’architecture  gothique en France. Elle est aujourd’hui considérée comme l’un des bâtiments médiévaux les plus emblématiques au monde. 

Organisée sur deux étages (avec deux chapelles superposées :  une chapelle basse et une chapelle haute), la Sainte-Chapelle suit un plan très simple, sans bas-côté, transept ni déambulatoire. 

Si la Sainte-Chapelle présente une superficie très modeste, comparable à celle d’une église de village, sa hauteur est au contraire digne d’une cathédrale gothique. Le rez-de-chaussée tenait lieu de sacristie (annexe d’une église où l’on conserve les objets de culture), alors que la chapelle haute abritait les Saintes reliques dans une grande châsse (= un grand reliquaire).

La façade occidentale richement décorée mérite le coup d’œil. 

Sainte-Chapelle - polychromie

La chapelle basse

Avec ses airs de crypte, la chapelle basse est plus sombre et de dimension plus modeste que la chapelle haute. Elle n’en demeure pas moins richement décorée avec ses murs colorés (les spécialistes parlent de polychromie architecturale), ses ogives, ses colonnes et ses vitraux. 

La chapelle basse abrite aujourd’hui la boutique de souvenirs de la Sainte-Chapelle.

La chapelle haute

La chapelle haute est le véritable clou du spectacle. Presque deux fois plus haute qu’elle n’est large, la chapelle haute est décorée de couleurs flamboyantes (un autre exemple de polychromie architecturale) et de merveilleux vitraux datant du 13ème siècle. 

La tribune des reliques, qui abritait jadis les Saintes reliques, se trouve au milieu de l’abside.

Les parois sont presque entièrement percées de fenêtres : un véritable tour de force architectural, d’autant que la Sainte-Chapelle a été construite il y a plus de 7 siècles. 

Les vitraux représentent au total une surface de près de 615 m2 ! Il représentent une pléiade de scènes bibliques — dont des scènes de l’Ancien Testament, de l’Apocalypse ou encore de la Création — et historiques — avec notamment l’histoire de Saint-Louis recevant les reliques.

Informations pratiques

Horaires 

La Sainte-Chapelle est ouverte de 9h à 17h du 1er octobre au 31 mars et de 9h à 19h du 1er avril au 30 septembre (fermeture de la billetterie 40 minutes avant la fermeture du site). 

Accès

La Sainte-Chapelle se situe sur l’Île de la Cité, au sein de l’ancien Palais de la Cité (où se trouve également la Conciergerie). 

Elle est facilement accessible en transports en commun : 

  • En métro : Prendre la ligne 4 et descendre à la station Cité. La chapelle se trouve à deux pas de là.
  • En bus : Prendre les lignes 67, 69, 76 et 96 et descendre à l’arrêt Cité — Palais de Justice. 
  • En bus touristique à arrêts multiples. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.
  • En vélib’: vous trouverez plusieurs stations de vélos en libre service sur l’Île de la Cité.

Tarifs 

Les billets sont au prix de 11,50 euros en tarif plein. L’accès est gratuit pour les visiteurs de moins de 18 ans, les ressortissants de pays de l’Union Européenne âgés de 18 à 25 ans, les personnes en situation de handicap et les demandeurs d’emploi. 

Si vous comptez visiter également la Conciergerie (le Capitaine Ulysse vous le recommande chaudement), alors il est bien plus rentable d’opter pour le billet combiné Conciergerie + Sainte-Chapelle au prix de 18,50 € en tarif plein (contre 23 € séparément).

Attention, la Conciergerie et la Sainte-Chapelle sont victimes de leur succès. Pour éviter de perdre un temps précieux dans les files d’attente, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande donc chaudement de réserver vos billets en ligne à l’avance :

👉 Billet d’entrée pour la Sainte-Chapelle
👉 Billet combiné Sainte-Chapelle + Conciergerie

💡 Le bon plan : l’accès à la Sainte-Chapelle et à la Conciergerie sont aussi inclus dans le Museum Pass. Ce dernier permet de profiter d’un accès direct à plus de 60 musées et monuments parisiens, dont le Musée du Louvre, le musée d’Orsay et le Centre Pompidou.
En savoir plus : Paris Museum Pass


👉  Évitez les files d’attentes à Paris : réservez vos billets et visites à l’avance ! 


👉  À la recherche de conseils et de recommandations ? Voici tous les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à Paris !

🛏️   Hébergement : Paris est une ville très touristique et les hébergements ne manquent pas. Pour réserver, le Capitaine vous recommande Booking. Des auberges de jeunesse bon marché aux palaces luxueux, tout y est. Côté localisation, tout dépend de votre budget et de vos envies. Si vous voulez éviter les quartiers les plus chers, le Capitaine vous conseille de regarder du côté des 12ème et 13ème arrondissements, moins centraux, mais très bien reliés au centre de Paris. La Butte aux Cailles, avec ses airs de village en plein Paris, est d’ailleurs l’un des quartiers préférés du Capitaine. Si vous voulez en revanche poser vos valises dans un très bel hôtel parisien, le Capitaine vous donne son top 3 à Paris : le Saint-James, le Dokhan’s et le Le Metropolitan.

🎟️   Activités : pour vos visites et activités à Paris, le Capitaine vous conseille de jeter un coup d’œil au site GetYourGuide et Civitatis. Visites guidées, billets d’entrée, croisières, activités insolites : vous avez l’embarras du choix. Pour éviter les longues files d’attente devant les musées et monuments de la capitale, le Capitaine vous recommande par ailleurs d’opter pour des billets coupe-files réservables à l’avance.

⛵  Croisières : Que serait Paris sans la Seine ? Le Capitaine adore voguer sur le fleuve à la découverte des monuments emblématiques de la capitale, surtout à la tombée de la nuit. Pour retrouver une large sélection de croisières à Paris, c’est ici.

🎫   Citypass : Si vous passez plusieurs jours dans la capitale, il peut être intéressant d’investir dans un city pass donnant accès aux sites et monuments les plus emblématiques de Paris. Le gros plus de ces pass : les réductions et les accès coupe-files.

🚐   Transferts : les aéroports parisiens sont situés en dehors de la capitale et rejoindre le centre de Paris peut être quelque peu coûteux, y compris en transport en commun.
Si votre budget est serré, nous vous recommandons les navettes RATP qui vous déposent à Opéra depuis l’aéroport de Roissy et à Denfert-Rochereau depuis l’aéroport de Roissy.
Mais pour quelques euros de plus, vous pouvez réserver un transfert qui vous déposera directement à votre hôtel.
Si vous voyagez en groupe, cette option est d’autant plus intéressante et rentable. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.

🚌   Transports sur place : si Paris est une ville relativement dense qui se visite assez facilement à pied, vous aurez sûrement besoin d’utiliser les transports en commun pour explorer des coins de la capitale un petit peu plus excentrés. Pour éviter d’accumuler (et de perdre) les tickets de métro, il est possible d’opter pour un pass transport illimité, très pratique. Vous pouvez l’acheter directement à une borne dans une station de métro ou dans un guichet de la RATP.
Pour allier l’utile à l’agréable, vous pouvez aussi choisir de vous déplacer en bus à arrêts multiples (audioguide inclus).
Si vous préférez le bateau, il existe aussi le batobus, une navette fluviale sur la Seine !

✈️  Vols, trains & bus : Paris est une ville facilement accessible en avion, en voiture, en train et en bus. Pour vos vols, le Capitaine vous recommande chaudement le comparateur Skyscanner, idéal pour dégoter les meilleurs prix. Si vos dates sont flexibles, vous pouvez même comparer les tarifs sur plusieurs semaines pour trouver LE bon plan. Paris est aussi une ville facilement accessible en train et en bus. Pour réserver vos trajets, nous vous conseillons chaudement le site Trainline qui permet de voyager à travers 44 pays avec 207 compagnies ferroviaires et de bus.

Crédits photos
Stephanie LeBlanc | Dag Heinrichowski | Simone Mascellari

Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : 0 / 5. Nombre de votes : 0

Pas de notes pour le moment. Soyez le premier à donner vote avis !

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *