• Menu
  • Menu
Villa Farnesina

The Villa Farnesina in Rome

Accueil » Europe » Mediterranean Europe » Italy » Rome » The Villa Farnesina in Rome
0
(0)

Nestled along the Tiber, in the very beautiful district of Trastevere, the Villa Farnesina is a sumptuous Renaissance palace whose walls are covered with frescoes painted by great Italian masters (Raphael, Baldassare Peruzzi, Giovanni Antonio Bazzi aka Sodoma…) A true gem!

💡 The Captain’s tip 💡
Want to know more about the history of Rome? Captain Ulysses highly recommends this free guided tour of the city. It’s up to you to choose how much you want to tip the tour guide!

Brief history of the Villa Farnesina

The origins of the Villa Farnesina

Built between 1505 and 1511 at the request of a wealthy Sienese banker, Agostino Chigi (who was also Pope Julius II’s treasurer), Villa Farnesina is the work of architect Baldassare Peruzzi. At the time, it was one of the first Roman villas built in the “suburbs” of the capital.

To decorate his brand new palace, the owner called on some of the greatest painters of his time: Raphael, Peruzzi (who also designed the architecture of the villa), Sodoma, Sebastiano del Piombo, Giovanni da Udine, Giulio Romano or Giovan Francesco Penni.

The Villa Farnesina was then famous throughout Rome for its sumptuous evenings and princely celebrations. Some even say that the guests were invited to throw the gold and silver dishes into the Tiber at the end of dinner. According to legend, Agostino Chigi still took the trouble to have nets placed at the bottom of the Tiber to recover his precious plates. There are limits to profligacy!

Villa Farnesina

Change of ownership!

On the death of Agostino Chigi in 1520, the villa was abandonned. During the sack of Rome in 1527, it was requisitioned by mercenaries – lansquenets – who left some traces on the walls of the villa: scribbled graffitis can still be spotted around the villa.

Cardinal Alexander Farnese bought the palace in 1580 and gave the villa its current name. It was called “Villa Farnesina” so as not to be confused with Palazzo Farnese, located on the opposite bank of the Tiber. According to legend, the Farnese family entrusted Michelangelo with the task of building a bridge to connect their two properties… however, nothing came of it.

In the 18th century, the villa became the property of the Bourbons of Spain and later of the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies. In the 19th century, the Spanish ambassador Bermudez de Castro di Ripalta bought in turn the Villa Farnesina.

The Villa Farnesina today

In the 1920s, the villa became the property of the Italian state. It is now partly open to the public and houses the headquarters of the Academy of Lynceans, the oldest scientific academy in Europe (located in the past in the Palazzo Altemps).

Attention, sailors!
Want to find out more about Rome’s top landmarks, activities & museums? Why don’t you check out the Captain’s detailed article on the best things to do in Rome?

Visiting the Villa Farnesina

The exterior of the villa

The facade of the villa, with its loggia – a a roofed area attached to the house – and its Tuscan pillars, was quite unusual for the time. The building is U-shaped, with two small wings on either side of the main building.

Villa Farnesina - Rome

The ground floor

The Loggia of Galatea – This loggia is named after the fresco painted by Raphael in 1613 and representing the Triumph of Galatea. The story goes that Galatea, in love with the shepherd Acis, repelled the advances of the Cyclops Polyphemus, who killed her lover out of spite.
Agostino Chigi’s horoscope, painted on the ceiling of the loggia, is the work of Baldassare Peruzzi. The other mythological scenes in the room were painted by Sebastiano del Piombo.

The Loggia of Cupid and Psyche – Located after the Loggia of Galatea, the Loggia of Cupid and Psyche is also named after a fresco painted by Raphael and his disciples. It tells the story of Psyche, and is according to some a reference to Francesca Oreaschi, mistress then wife of Agostino Chigi.
The loggia is also decorated with works by Giovanni da Udine.

Villa Farnesina - The Loggia of Cupid and Psyche

The Frieze Room – Unsurprisingly, the Frieze Room is named after the frieze that wraps around the top of the walls of the room. Designed by Peruzzi in 1508, the frieze depicts several mythological scenes including the labors of Hercules.

The first floor

The Perspectives’ Hall – Decorated by Baldassare Peruzzi in 1519, this hall located on the first floor of the villa is decorated with urban and rural scenes punctuated by trompe-l’oeil columns. Don’t miss the frieze depicting mythological scenes, nor the fireplace with its beautiful fresco of Vulcan.

Villa Farnesina - Perspectives' Hall - Vulcan

The Room of the Marriage of Alexander and Roxana – The final room in Villa Farnesina open to the public was originally Agostino Chigi’s bedroom. It is named after the huge fresco covering the north wall and designed by Giovanni Antonio Bazzi, known as Sodoma.

Villa Farnesina - The Marriage of Alexander and Roxana

The gardens of the Villa Farnesina

Before leaving, be sure to take a stroll through the villa’s beautiful Italian gardens: an oasis of freshness in the heart of the Italian capital.

Access

Located in the Trastevere district, Villa Farnesina is easily accessible on foot, by bus (lines 23 and 280) or by tram (line 8).

The villa is open from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday to Saturday and from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. every second Sunday of the month.

Admission tickets are €10 full price, €9 reduced price. The audioguide is €3.

You can also opt for a guided tour of Villa Farnesina and Trastevere. Find out more here.

💡 For information 💡
Unlimited access to public transport is included in the Omnia Card. Find out more here.


Looking for tips and recommendations? Here are all the Captain’s suggestions!

🛏️ Accommodation: to book your accommodation in Rome, Captain Ulysses warmly recommends Booking.com:
the best hostels
the best affordable hotels
the best mid-range hotels
the best high-end hotels

🎟️ Activities: as for booking visits and tourist activities, Captain Ulysses recommends three websites: GetYourGuide , Tiqets and Civitatis. Guided tours, cruises, skip-the-line tickets, tourist activities… there’s plenty to choose from!

🎫 Citypass: if you are staying in Rome for several days, it may be worth investing in the Roma Pass or the Omnia Card . As well as entries to some of the capital’s most iconic sites, these passes include access to public transport.

🚐 Transfers: if you want to arrive in Rome serenely, you can book your transfer from the airport to the city centre in advance. A car will be waiting to take you to your accommodation in the city. For more information: transfers in Rome.

🚌 Local transport: Rome has a comprehensive public transport system: metro, bus and tram. Access to public transport is included in the Roma Pass and the Omnia Card . If you wish, you can also opt for a hop-on hop-off bus tour which stops at all the top tourist attractions in Rome (audio guide included).

✈️ Flights and trains: to book your flights to Rome, Captain Ulysses warmly recommends Skyscanner. You’ll be able to compare countless offers to find the best deal. If your dates are flexible, you can also compare prices over several months to find the cheapest flights possible.
As for trains, the Captain recommends Trainline to book your tickets.

👉 Skip the lines: book your tickets and visits in advance!


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

• Menu
  • Menu
Villa Farnesina

La Villa Farnesina : un palais Renaissance niché dans le Trastevere

Accueil » Europe » Europe méditéranéenne » Italie » Rome » La Villa Farnesina : un palais Renaissance niché dans le Trastevere
5
(1)

Niché le long du Tibre, dans le très beau quartier du Trastevere, la Villa Farnesina est un somptueux palais Renaissance dont les murs sont couverts de fresques peintes par des grands-maîtres italiens (Raphaël, Baldassare Peruzzi, Giovanni Antonio Bazzi dit le Sodoma…) Un véritable joyau !

💡 Le bon plan 💡
Vous voulez en savoir plus sur l’histoire de Rome ? Le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement cette visite guidée gratuite de la ville (en anglais). À vous de choisir le pourboire que vous voulez laisser au guide !

Petite histoire de la Villa Farnesina

Les origines de la Villa Farnesina

Construite entre 1505 et 1511 pour le compte d’un riche banquier siennois, Agostino Chigi (qui était aussi trésorier du Pape Jules II), la Villa Farnesina est l’œuvre de l’architecte Baldassare Peruzzi. À l’époque, elle est l’une des premières villas romaines construites dans la « banlieue » de la capitale.

Pour décorer son tout nouveau palais, le propriétaire fait appel à certains des plus grands peintres de son temps : Raphaël, Peruzzi (qui a aussi conçu l’architecture de la villa), le Sodoma, Sebastiano del Piombo, Giovanni da Udine, Giulio Romano ou encore Giovan Francesco Penni.

La Villa Farnesina est alors connue dans tout Rome pour ses soirées fastueuses et ses célébrations princières. Certains racontent même que les convives étaient invités à jeter la vaisselle en or et en argent dans le Tibre à la fin du dîner. Selon la légende, Agostino Chigi prenait malgré tout la peine de faire placer des filets dans au fond du Tibre pour récupérer ses précieuses assiettes. Pas folle, la guêpe !

Villa Farnesina

Changement de propriétaire !

À la mort d’Agostino Chigi en 1520, la villa est abonnée. Pendant le sac de Rome en 1527, elle est réquisitionnée par des mercenaires – des lansquenets – qui y laissent même quelques traces : des graffitis gribouillés par ces derniers sont encore visibles à certains endroits de la villa.

En 1580, le cardinal Alexandre Farnese fait l’acquisition du palais. C’est à cette époque que la villa prend donc son nom actuelle. Elle est baptisée « Villa Farnesina » pour ne pas être confondue avec le Palais Farnese, situé sur la rive opposée du Tibre. Il semblerait d’ailleurs que la famille Farnese aurait confié à Michel-Ange la tâche de construire un pont pour relier les deux propriétés… mais le projet n’aboutira jamais.

Au 18ème siècle, la villa devient la propriété des Bourbons d’Espagne puis du Royaume des Deux-Siciles. Au 19ème siècle, l’ambassadeur d’Espagne Bermudez de Castro di Ripalta en fait à son tour l’acquisition.

La Villa Farnesina aujourd’hui

Dans les années 1920, l’État italien fait l’acquisition de la villa. Elle est aujourd’hui en partie ouverte au public et abrite le siège de l’Académie des Lyncéens, la plus ancienne académie scientifique d’Europe (situé par le passé dans le Palais Altemps).

Visiter la Villa Farnesina

L’extérieur de la villa

La façade de la villa, avec sa loggia – un balcon couvert, fermé sur les côtés – et ses piliers toscans, était assez inhabituelle pour l’époque. L’édifice se présente en forme de U, avec deux petites ailes de part et d’autre du bâtiment principal.

Villa Farnesina - Rome

Le rez-de-chaussée

La Loggia de Galatée – Cette loggia doit son nom à la fresque peinte par Raphaël en 1613 et représentant le Triomphe de Galatée. L’histoire veut que Galatée, amoureuse du berger Acis, repoussât les avances du cyclope Polyphème qui tua son amant par esprit de vengeance.
L’horoscope d’Agostino Chigi, peint sur le plafond de la loggia, est l’œuvre de Baldassare Peruzzi. Les autres scènes mythologiques de la salle ont quant à elles été réalisées par Sebastiano del Piombo.

La Loggia de l’Amour et Psychée – Située à la suite de la Loggia de Galatée, la Loggia de l’Amour et Psychée tient elle aussi son nom d’une fresque peinte par Raphaël et ses disciples. Cette dernière raconte l’histoire de Psychée, et serait selon certains une référence à Francesca Oreaschi, maîtresse puis épouse d’Agostino Chigi.
La loggia est également décorée d’œuvres de Giovanni da Udine.

Villa Farnesina - La Loggia de l’Amour et Psychée

La Salle de la frise – Sans grande surprise, la Salle de la frise doit son nom à la frise qui entoure le haut des murs de la pièce. Cette dernière, réalisée par Peruzzi en 1508, représente plusieurs scènes mythologiques parmi lesquelles les travaux d’Hercule.

Le premier étage

La Salle des Perspectives – Décorée par Baldassare Peruzzi en 1519, cette salle située au premier étage de la villa est ornée de scènes urbaines et champêtres ponctuées de colonnes en trompe-l’œil. Ne manquez pas la frise représentant des scènes mythologiques ni la cheminée avec sa belle fresque de Vulcain.

Villa Farnesina - Salle des Perspectives - Vulcain

Salle des noces d’Alexandre et de Roxanne – Ultime salle de la Villa Farnesina ouverte au public, la Salle des noces d’Alexandre et de Roxanne était à l’origine la chambre à coucher d’Agostino Chigi. Elle doit son nom à l’immense fresque recouvrant le mur côté nord, œuvre de Giovanni Antonio Bazzi, dit le Sodoma.

Villa Farnesina - Les Noces d'Alexandre et de Roxane

Les jardins de la Villa Farnesina

Avant de partir, ne manquez pas de faire un tour dans les beaux jardins italiens de la villa : une véritable oasis de fraîcheur au cœur de la capitale italienne.

Informations pratiques

Située dans le quartier du Trastevere, la Villa Farnesina est facilement accessible à pied, en bus (lignes 23 et 280) ou en tramway (ligne 8).

La villa est ouverte de 9h à 14h du lundi au samedi et de 9h à 17h chaque deuxième dimanche du mois.

Les billets sont au prix de 10 € en tarif plein, 9 € en tarif réduit. L’audioguide est au prix de 3 €.

Si votre budget vous le permet, sachez qu’il existe une visite guidée en français de la Villa Farnesina et du Trastevere. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.  

💡 Pour information 💡
Sachez que l’accès illimité aux transports publics est inclus dans l’Omnia Card. Pour en savoir plus, c’est ici.


À la recherche de conseils et de recommandations ? Voici tous les bons plans du Capitaine Ulysse à Rome !

🛏️   Hébergement : pour réserver votre hébergement à Rome, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement le site Booking :
les meilleures auberges de jeunesse
les meilleurs hôtels pour les petits budgets
les meilleurs hôtels pour les budgets intermédiaires
les meilleurs hôtels haut-de-gamme

🎟️   Activités : côté visites et activités, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande de faire un tour sur les sites GetYourGuideTiqets et Civitatis. Visites guidées, croisières, billets coupe-files, activités insolites… vous devriez amplement y trouver votre bonheur !

🎫   Citypass : si vous restez plusieurs jours à Rome, il peut être intéressant d’investir dans le Roma Pass ou l’Omnia Card. En plus de l’entrée dans certains des sites les plus emblématiques de la capitale, ces pass incluent l’accès aux transports publics.

🚐   Transferts : si vous voulez arriver à Rome en toute sérénité, il est possible de réserver votre transfert depuis l’aéroport à l’avance. Une voiture vous attendra pour vous amener directement à votre hébergement dans la capitale. Pour en savoir plus : transferts à Rome.

🚌   Transports sur place : la ville de Rome possède un système de transport public très complet : métro, bus et tram. L’accès aux transports en commun est inclus dans le Roma Pass et l’Omnia Card. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez aussi opter pour un bus à arrêts multiples qui fait le tour des sites et monuments les plus emblématiques de la capitale (audioguide inclus).

✈️  Vols et trains : pour réserver vos vols pour Rome, le Capitaine Ulysse vous recommande chaudement le comparateur Skyscanner. Vous pourrez trouver les meilleurs prix à vos dates, ou utiliser l’option « dates flexibles » pour dégoter LE bon plan !
Coté trains, le Capitaine vous conseille de faire un tour sur Trainline pour réserver vos billets.


Comment avez-vous trouvé ce post ?

Cliquez sur les étoile pour noter :

Note moyenne : 5 / 5. Nombre de votes : 1

Pas de notes pour le moment. Soyez le premier à donner vote avis !

Le capitaine est ravi que vous aimiez cet article ...

Suivez ses aventures sur les réseaux sociaux !

Laissez une réponse

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *